Skip to Main Page Content
Home / Student Life at Cronkite / Student Clubs & Organizations

Student Clubs and Organizations at the Cronkite School

 Student Organizations

Asian American Journalists Association

AAJA formed in 2012 as the first university-based organizations affiliated with the national Asian American Journalists Association. The association provides support to Asian American and Pacific Islander journalists and offers information, guidance and scholarship assistance to Asian American and Pacific Islander journalism students.

President: Sophia Kunthara at kuntharasp@gmail.com 
Faculty adviser: Christina Leonard at christina.leonard@asu.edu

Facebook
Twitter


 Association for Women in Sports Media

Association for Women in Sports Media launched in 2013 in response to the growing number of female students interests in sports journalism. The chapter is affiliated with the national AWSM professional organization, which provides networking, mentoring and advice. The club is open to both men and women and works to promote fair portrayals of female professionals in sports media.

President: Adia Taylor at ajtayl16@asu.edu
Faculty adviser: Kristin Gilger at kristin.gilger@asu.edu

Facebook


Cronkite Broadcast Association

The Cronkite Broadcast Association incorporates three clubs: Associated Press Television and Radio Association, National Academy of Television Arts and Sciences, and Radio Television Digital News Association, and serves students with an interest in broadcast journalism. The student chapter connects members with local journalists and sponsors activities that promote interest and skills development in broadcast media.

President: Chloe Ranshaw at chloemranshaw@cox.net
Faculty adviser: Melanie Alvarez at melanie.alvarez@asu.edu
Faculty adviser: Jim Jacoby at jim.jacoby@asu.edu
Faculty adviser: Mark Lodato at mark.lodato@asu.edu

Facebook

 

Cronkite Foreign Affairs and International Reporting Club 

Cronkite Foreign Affairs and International Reporting Club formed in 2015 and brings together students who are interested in international reporting to discuss issues related to global journalism and connect with professionals who have worked internationally. 

President: Desiree Cunningham at , desiree.cunningham@asu.edu
Faculty adviser: Bill Silcock at b.silcock@asu.edu
Faculty adviser: Xu Wu at  xu.wu@asu.edu

 

Fashion Journalist Club

The Fashion Journalist Club attracts students interested in careers in reporting on the fashion industry. Members report and write stories for a club blog on local and national fashion week events and network with industry professionals.

President: Madison Rowbotham at asu.fjc@gmail.com
Adviser: Marianne Barrett at marianne@asu.edu

Blog
Facebook
Twitter


National Association of Black Journalists

The National Association of Black Journalists formed in 2011 with a focus on career advancement and networking. The group, which is open to students regardless of race and affiliated with the national organization, provides social and professional opportunities for students and enables members to help each other advance in their careers.

President: Jamie Barnes at jamie.barnes@asu.edu
Faculty adviser: Retha Hill at retha.hill@asu.edu

Website
Facebook


National Association of Hispanic Journalists

National Association of Hispanic Journalists launched in fall 2010. It was one of the first NAHJ student chapters in the country. Working with national and local chapters, students are mentored by professional journalists, apply for scholarships and attend the organization's national convention.

President: Clara Benitez at clara_benitez@ymail.com
Faculty adviser: Anita Luera at anita.luera@asu.edu

Website
Facebook
Twitter


National Lesbian and Gay Journalist Association

National Lesbian and Gay Journalists Association formed at the Cronkite School in fall 2010. It was the nation’s first student NLGJA chapter. Working with the national organization, students work to foster fair and accurate coverage of lesbian, gay, bisexual and transgender issues. The club also provides networking, mentorship and educational opportunities.

President: Alex Stevenson at ajsteve3@asu.edu
Faculty adviser: Michelle Fitzhugh-Craig at michelle.craig@asu.edu

Facebook
Twitter


National Press Photographers Association 

The ASU student chapter of the National Press Photographers Association is committed to the enlightenment and education of students interested in the field of photojournalism. Through the exploration of journalistic writing, digital media and photography, students take part in valuable hands-on experiences and skill-building opportunities.

President: Courtney Pedroza at courtney.pedroza@gmail.com
Faculty adviser: Kristin Gilger at kristin.gilger@asu.edu

Facebook


Public Relations Student Society of America 

PRSSA is a nationwide organization focused on providing students who aspire to have careers in the public relations/communications industry with experience in the field, via networking, internships, scholarships and other resources. ASU Cronkite's chapter offers opportunities for students to meet public relations professionals, gain mentors, broaden industry knowledge and communication skills, and share fellowship with other public relations professionals.

President: Jillian Carapella at jilliancarapella@yahoo.com
Faculty adviser: Fran Matera at matera@asu.edu

Website
Facebook
Twitter


SPJ/ONA Cronkite: Society of Professional Journalists and Online News Association

For more than 100 years, SPJ has been dedicated to encouraging a climate in which journalism can be practiced more freely and fully, stimulating high standards and ethical behavior in the practice of journalism and perpetuating a free press. The Online News Association is a nonprofit membership organization for digital journalists, connecting journalism, technology and innovation. Since 1999, ONA has been at the forefront of a truly revolutionary age in digital media. The programs and services it provides help digital journalists in news organizations around the globe and across the corporate, independent and non-profit sectors adapt to the changing environment.

President: Sydnee Schwartz at sydnee.schwartz@asu.edu
Faculty adviser: Christina Leonard at christina.leonard@asu.edu

Website
Facebook


Student Leadership Advisory Council

The Student Leadership Advisory Council is a group of Cronkite School student leaders who advise the dean. The council comprises the student leaders of the various student media on campus (The State Press, The Blaze), the campus-based media associations, the president of the Cronkite Council student government and the school’s representatives on the university-wide student government.

Faculty adviser: Dean Christopher Callahan at christopher.callahan@asu.edu


Walter Cronkite College Council

The Walter Cronkite College Council consists of elected leaders and students associated with the Walter Cronkite School of Journalism and Mass Communication. Through event programming, funding advocacy, community service and providing leadership opportunities, the council strives to support and serve undergraduate organizations. Membership is open to all students attending the Cronkite School.

President: Alexis Kramer-Ainza at akramera@asu.edu
Staff adviser: Beth Nakamura at beth.nakamura@asu.edu

Facebook
Twitter