Home / Student Life at Cronkite / Student Clubs & Organizations

Student Clubs and Organizations at the Cronkite School

Cronkite student clubs

All Day Sports Productions

All Day Sports Productions is a media club that is all about creating sports news content. Our club is dedicated to creating an opportunity for those who are passionate about being a sports journalist.

Facebook | Twitter

President: Caleb Bouchy atcbouchy@asu.edu
Vice President: Henry Steiner at hsteine1@asu.edu
Faculty adviser: Gail Rhodes at glrhodes@asu.edu

Asian American Journalists Association

AAJA formed in 2012 as one of the first university-based organizations affiliated with the national Asian American Journalists Association. The association provides support to Asian American and Pacific Islander journalists and offers information, guidance and scholarship assistance to Asian American and Pacific Islander journalism students.

President: Jessie Jo Pauley at jjpauley@asu.edu
Vice President: Julian Paras at julianparas@gmail.com
Faculty adviser: Christina Leonard at christina.leonard@asu.edu

Association for Women in Sports Media

Facebook | Twitter | Instagram

Association for Women in Sports Media launched in 2013 in response to the growing number of female students interests in sports journalism. The chapter is affiliated with the national AWSM professional organization, which provides networking, mentoring and advice. The club is open to both men and women and works to promote fair portrayals of female professionals in sports media. If you have any questions, you can email AWSM at asu.awsm@gmail.com

Co-Vice President: Remahl Anthony-Aljumaan at raljumaan@gmail.com
Co-Vice President: Emily Ducker at educker@asu.edu
Faculty adviser: Paola Boivin at paola.dieffenbach@asu.edu

Association of LGBTQ+ Journalists

Facebook | Twitter | Instagram

National Lesbian and Gay Journalists Association formed at the Cronkite School in fall 2010. It was the nation’s first student NLGJA chapter. Working with the national organization, students work to foster fair and accurate coverage of lesbian, gay, bisexual and transgender issues. The club also provides networking, mentorship and educational opportunities.

President: Adrian Delgado at starr509602@yahoo.com
Vice President: Kelsey Kerley at kekerley@asu.edu
Staff adviser: Mary Cook at mary.cook@asu.edu

Cronkite Broadcast Association

The Cronkite Broadcast Association incorporates three clubs: Associated Press Television and Radio Association, National Academy of Television Arts and Sciences, and Radio Television Digital News Association, and serves students with an interest in broadcast journalism. The student chapter connects members with local journalists and sponsors activities that promote interest and skills development in broadcast media.

President: Chloe Ranshaw at chloemranshaw@cox.net
Faculty adviser: Mark Lodato at mark.lodato@asu.edu

Cronkite Foreign Affairs and International Relations Club

Facebook | Twitter | Instagram

Cronkite Foreign Affairs and International Relations Club brings together students who are interested in international reporting and current events to discuss issues related to global journalism and connect with professionals who have worked internationally.

President: Haley MacDonell at hmacdone@asu.edu
PR director: Helena Wegner at hwegner@asu.edu
Faculty adviser: Bill Silcock at bsilcock@asu.edu

Cronkite Innovation Club

The Cronkite Innovation Club aims to fuse the tech world with journalism. Our partnership with Downtown Devil and other Cronkite organizations gives us the platform to have our content published. The current focus is on 360 videos.

President: Lauren Marshall at laurenmarshallfaith@yahoo.com
Faculty adviser: Retha Hill at Retha.Hill@asu.edu

Fashion Journalism Club

Website | Instagram | Facebook

The Fashion Journalism Club attracts students interested in careers in reporting on the fashion industry. Members report and write stories for a club blog on local and national fashion week events and network with industry professionals.

President: Megan Barbera at mmbarbe3@asu.edu
Social media editor: Jaslyn Ravenscraft at jravensc@asu.edu
Faculty adviser: Jessica Pucci at jepucci@asu.edu

National Association of Black Journalists

Instagram | Facebook | Twitter

The National Association of Black Journalists formed in 2011 with a focus on career advancement and networking. The group, which is open to students regardless of race and affiliated with the national organization, provides social and professional opportunities for students and enables members to help each other advance in their careers.

President: Kiarra Spottsville at kspottsv@asu.edu
Vice president: Nicole Shinn at nsshinn@asu.edu
Faculty adviser: Retha Hill at retha.hill@asu.edu

National Association of Hispanic Journalists

Facebook | Twitter | Instagram

National Association of Hispanic Journalists launched in fall 2010. It was one of the first NAHJ student chapters in the country. Working with national and local chapters, students are mentored by professional journalists, apply for scholarships and attend the organization's national convention.

President: Paulina Verbera at verberapaulina@gmail.com
Vice president: Irene Franco Rubio at irenefranco031@gmail.com
Faculty adviser: Vanessa Ruiz at vanessa.ruiz.2@asu.edu

National Press Photographers Association

Facebook | Instagram

The ASU student chapter of the National Press Photographers Association is committed to the enlightenment and education of students interested in the field of photojournalism. Through the exploration of journalistic writing, digital media and photography, students take part in valuable hands-on experiences and skill-building opportunities.

President: Marcus Chormicle at marcuschormicle@gmail.com
Vice president: Raphael Romero Ruiz at rjromer8@asu.edu
Faculty adviser: Kristin Gilger at kristin.gilger@asu.edu

Native American Journalists Association

Instagram | Twitter

Native American Journalists Association exists to empower Native American journalists here on campus, but also exists to highlight those issues impacting Native Americans every day. NAJA is open to any student that is Native American or to any student that wants to cover Native issues — even if they’re not Native. We are excited to start this club here at Cronkite because we believe that it is important for Native students to have a voice and for the issues impacting our communities to be really looked into and reported on.

President: Noah Huerta at nahuerta@asu.edu
Vice president: Kiarra Spottsville at kspottsv@asu.edu
Faculty adviser: Lori Todd at loritodd@asu.edu

Public Relations Student Society of America

Website | Twitter | Facebook | Instagram

PRSSA is a nationwide organization focused on providing students who aspire to have careers in the public relations/communications industry with experience in the field, via networking, internships, scholarships and other resources. ASU Cronkite's chapter offers opportunities for students to meet public relations professionals, gain mentors, broaden industry knowledge and communication skills, and share fellowship with other public relations professionals.

President: Tiffany Ellington at teelling@asu.edu
Vice president: Emily Holdaway at ekholdaw@asu.edu
Faculty adviser: Lisa Schmidtke at lisa.schmidtke@asu.edu

Society of Professional Journalists and Online News Association at Arizona State University

Facebook | Twitter

For more than 100 years, SPJ has been dedicated to encouraging a climate in which journalism can be practiced more freely and fully, stimulating high standards and ethical behavior in the practice of journalism and perpetuating a free press. The Online News Association is a nonprofit membership organization for digital journalists, connecting journalism, technology and innovation. Since 1999, ONA has been at the forefront of a truly revolutionary age in digital media. The programs and services it provides help digital journalists in news organizations around the globe and across the corporate, independent and non-profit sectors adapt to the changing environment.

President(s): Frankie Mclister at francis.mclister@asu.edu & Lauren Bukoskey at lbukoske@asu.edu
Treasurer: Julian Paras at julianparas@gmail.com
Faculty adviser: Heather Dunn at Heather.Dunn.1@asu.edu
Faculty adviser: Lori Todd at loritodd@asu.edu

Student Leadership Advisory Council

The Student Leadership Advisory Council is a group of Cronkite School student leaders who advise the dean. The council comprises the student leaders of the various student media on campus (The State Press, The Blaze), the campus-based media associations, the president of the Cronkite Council student government and the school’s representatives on the university-wide student government.

Faculty adviser: Christopher Callahan at christopher.callahan@asu.edu

Walter Cronkite College Council

Facebook | Twitter | Instagram

The Walter Cronkite College Council consists of elected leaders and students associated with the Walter Cronkite School of Journalism and Mass Communication. Through event programming, funding advocacy, community service and providing leadership opportunities, the council strives to support and serve undergraduate organizations. Membership is open to all students attending the Cronkite School.

President: Mythili Gubbi at mgubbi@asu.edu
Vice President: Alyssa Ruiz at abruiz2@asu.edu
Staff adviser: Mary Cook at mary.cook@asu.edu