Two students deliver a newscast in Cronkite News.

News from the Cronkite School

Catch up on what’s (and who’s!) new at the Cronkite School.

Cronkite alumnus Aaron Lavinsky. Photo by Aimee Jordan / M Health Fairview

Alumni Highlight: Pulitzer Prize winner remembers lessons learned at Cronkite School

Aaron Lavinsky has won some of journalism’s most prestigious awards since graduating from the Cronkite School in 2014.

Al Roker speaking during student Q&A

Al Roker encourages future journalists to remain open minded as they navigate college, career

Al Roker shared the ups and downs of his journey, as well as career advice with Cronkite students during a Q&A session.

Al Roker and Provost Gonzales holding the Cronkite Award

NBC NEWS’ TODAY weatherman, anchor Al Roker honored with 2021 Cronkite Award

Al Roker, the Emmy award-winning weatherman and popular anchor for NBC NEWS’ TODAY, received the 38th annual Walter Cronkite Award for Excellence in Journalism.


Musical co-written by Cronkite School professor to make off-Broadway debut

A musical co-written by Cronkite School Professor Fernanda Santos is headed to New York City to make its off-Broadway premiere. 

Howard Center investigation examines how regulators are unaware of how much greenhouse gases are released by oil and gas companies

A new investigation by the Howard Center revealed regulators are in the dark when it comes to how much greenhouse gases are being released into the atmosphere.

Crystal Patriarche

Alumni Highlight: Crystal Patriarche’s Path to Entrepreneurship and Public Relations

Crystal Patriarche, founder and CEO of SparkPoint Studio, has been named to ASU’s Sun Devil 100 list for four consecutive years.

Sree Sreenivasan

Global leader in journalism and digital media joins Cronkite School to lead initiative for working professionals, skill seekers

Sree Sreenivasan, an internationally acclaimed journalist, digital media executive and educator, will join the Cronkite School to lead a new professional education and skills training initiative.

Global Friends

Humphrey Fellowship Program seeks ‘Global Friends’ to support international professionals

The Hubert H. Humphrey Fellowship Program is looking for Global Friends who can help the Humphrey Fellows adjust to life in the Phoenix area and the U.S.. 

Cronkite students cover Super Bowl in LA

Four Cronkite students came together to cover the biggest sporting event of the year live from Los Angeles: Super Bowl LVI. 

Cronkite senior wins Hearst Award for feature writing

Cronkite senior Kiera Riley took home second place in the Feature Writing Competition of the 2021-2022 Hearst Journalism Awards Program.

020-2021 Shaufler Prize in Journalism

Cronkite School announces winners of inaugural Shaufler Prize in Journalism contest

The winning journalists will split $20,000 in cash awards in the professional and student journalist categories. 

Arizona PBS took home two awards in the Overall Excellence category of the 53rd Annual Public Media Awards (PMAs) on January 25, 2022. The PMAs, presented by the National Educational Telecommunications Association (NETA), honor public media stations’ finest work in community engagement, content, education, and marketing/communications.

Arizona PBS wins three Public Media Awards for content and overall excellence

Arizona PBS won a total of three awards in two categories – including Excellence in Education, Excellence in COVID-19 Response, and Content - Arts & Entertainment. 

Alberto Mariani

Cronkite senior wins first prize in Hearst photojournalism contest

Alberto Mariani won first place in the Photojournalism Features and News Competition of the 2021-2022 Hearst Journalism Awards Program.

NBCU Academy logo

Arizona State University Cronkite School of Journalism and Mass Communication and Global Sport Institute announces new partnership with NBCU News Group’s NBCU Academy

ASU was one of 13 universities, community colleges and accredited programs chosen this year for the initiative.

Delta Dental

Delta Dental of Arizona Foundation and Arizona PBS launch partnership to educate children on good oral health

The statewide campaign will boost family involvement in good oral health practices, focusing on the importance of brushing twice a day, changing toothbrushes regularly and visiting the dentist.

Arizona PBS

Arizona PBS promotes three staff members to key leadership positions

The station promoted Ebonye Delaney to senior director and content officer; Tiffany Khan to senior director and revenue officer; and Marisa Upham to project manager and advisor to the general manager.

Susan Goldberg, editor in chief of National Geographic and editorial director of National Geographic Partners, will join Arizona State University with a joint appointment

Susan Goldberg joins ASU’s Cronkite School and Julie Ann Wrigley Global Futures Laboratory

Susan Goldberg, editor in chief of National Geographic and editorial director of National Geographic Partners, will join the Cronkite School in early 2022.

2021 Holidays

Celebrating 2021: A Milestone Year

2021 proved to be a milestone year for the Cronkite School and Arizona PBS. Here are the most popular website and social media stories for Cronkite and Arizona PBS in 2021.

2021 Fall Convocation Dean Batts

Cronkite School celebrates first in-person convocation in two years

The Walter Cronkite School of Journalism and Mass Communication celebrated its Fall 2021 convocation ceremony at the Arizona Federal Theatre in downtown Phoenix.

Prince James Story

Sports journalism graduate wants to give a voice to underrepresented communities

Prince James Story wants to explore the intersection of sports and culture and tell the stories of those in underrepresented communities.