Webby Awards

Carnegie-Knight News21 wins prestigious Webby Award

Tuesday, May 7, 2024


Carnegie-Knight News21, a national reporting initiative headquartered at Arizona State University’s Walter Cronkite School of Journalism and Mass Communication, took home a “People’s Voice” Webby Award in the student video category for its national examination of the impact of the reversal of Roe v. Wade. 

America After Roe” explores how the U.S. Supreme Court’s monumental decision has gone beyond abortion bans to more broadly affect health care, culture, policy and people.

The 2023 cohort of News21 fellows traveled to 14 states, as well as Washington, D.C., and Monterrey, Mexico, to investigate ramifications of the decision. 

The cohort comprised 25 top student journalists from nine universities across the country — including 12 from the Cronkite School — who produced stories in text, video, audio, photos and graphics. 

The winning video journalists are: 

  • Peyton Brooks, University of Oregon
  • Buffett Foundation Fellows Naomi Delkamiller and Joseph Kual Zakaria, University of Nebraska-Lincoln
  • Buffett Foundation Fellows Mingson Lau and Trilce Estrada Olvera, Arizona State University
  • Inasmuch Foundation Fellow Kevin Palomino, University of Oklahoma
  • Gray Television Fellow April Michelle Pierdant, University of North Texas
  • Jada Respress, Ohio Wesleyan University

The International Academy of Digital Arts and Sciences, composed of Internet industry experts, nominates and selects The Webby Award Winners.

The Carnegie Corporation of New York and the John S. and James L. Knight Foundation joined forces in 2005 to launch News21 as a cornerstone of the Carnegie-Knight Initiative on the Future of Journalism Education.

The John S. and James L. Knight Foundation provides core support for News21.The 2023 fellows were supported by their universities as well as a variety of foundations, news organizations and philanthropic partners that include the Howard G. Buffett Foundation, Inasmuch Foundation, Hearst Foundations, The Arizona Republic/azcentral and Gray Television.