CPB, ASU’s Cronkite School Announce Public Media Editorial Integrity and Leadership Fellows

Monday, March 11, 2019


The Corporation for Public Broadcasting and the Cronkite School have announced the fellows for the Editorial Integrity and Leadership Initiative which begins in April 2019.The Corporation for Public Broadcasting (CPB) and the Walter Cronkite School of Journalism and Mass Communication at Arizona State University are proud to announce the 53 fellows selected to participate in the Editorial Integrity and Leadership Initiative (EILI).The inaugural class, which will begin meeting in April at ASU, will be guided by Julia Wallace, the Cronkite School’s Frank Russell Chair and former editor-in-chief of The Atlanta Journal-Constitution. The intensive curriculum will focus on editorial integrity, utilizing active learning strategies to reinforce public media’s unique firewall, statutory obligation to balance, objectivity, accuracy, fairness and transparency. Participants also will receive one-on-one coaching from industry leaders.“The fellows will have the opportunity to work with an all-star lineup of newsroom leaders who are facing the challenges of today’s media landscape and working hard to improve civil discourse in their communities,” Wallace said. “Our program is designed to help strengthen American public media journalism by building the expertise of multimedia editors.”EILI is funded by a $1 million grant from CPB.“At a time when many news outlets are shrinking, we seek to train more public media editors to lead public media’s growing newsrooms while upholding the highest editorial standards,” said Kathy Merritt, CPB senior vice president for Journalism and Radio. “Skilled, effective editors are vital to producing content that tackles issues of importance to our communities and informs our country’s civil discourse.”The EILI Fellows come from 34 states and Washington, D.C. They work in radio and television stations of all sizes and serve rural and urban communities. They include current editors of journalism collaborations, producers of local and national programs, station newsroom leaders, investigative journalists, and up-and-coming reporters who show great potential for future impact in public media.Another call for applications will take place later this year and the final round of fellows will be announced in the fall. By 2020, a total of 100 public media leaders will have participated in the professional development program.Contacts Kyle Wu, Walter Cronkite School of Journalism, 650.304.7016, kyle.wu@asu.eduLetitia King, Corporation for Public Broadcasting, 202.879.9658, press@cpb.orgAbout CPB The Corporation for Public Broadcasting, a private, nonprofit corporation created by Congress in 1967, is the steward of the federal government’s investment in public broadcasting. It helps support the operations of more than 1,500 locally owned and operated public television and radio stations nationwide. CPB is also the largest single source of funding for research, technology and program development for public radio, television and related online services. For more information, visit cpb.org, follow on Twitter @CPBmedia, Facebook and LinkedIn and subscribe for other updates.About the Walter Cronkite School of Journalism and Mass CommunicationThe Cronkite School at Arizona State University is one of the nation’s premier professional journalism programs and is home to Arizona PBS, the largest media outlet operated by a journalism school in the world. The school’s mission is to prepare the next generation of journalists and communications professionals while also taking responsibility for the fundamental news and information needs of the community through an innovative journalistic “teaching hospital.” In more than a dozen professional immersion programs, students create professional content under the guidance of faculty with deep industry experience and experiment with new ways of creating and delivering news and information. The school is located on ASU’s Downtown Phoenix campus in the heart of the nation’s 11th largest media market.CPB Public Media Editorial Integrity and Leadership Initiative participantsErika Aguilar, Housing Reporter, KQED, San Francisco, CaliforniaAndrew Becker, News Director, KUER, Salt Lake City, UtahZuri Berry, Senior Managing Editor, WAMU, Washington, D.C.Jonathan Blakley, Executive Director, Radio Programming, KQED, San Francisco, CaliforniaSean Bowditch, Executive Editor, WNYC, New York, New YorkAriana Brocious, Producer, Arizona Public Media, TucsonTracy Brown, Managing Editor, Chicago Public MediaKyla Calvert Mason, Assistant News Director, Wisconsin Public RadioKatie Colaneri, Assistant News Director, WHYY, Philadelphia, PennsylvaniaScott Cameron, Executive Editor, Illinois Newsroom, Illinois Public MediaJeff Cohen, News Director, Connecticut Public RadioAimee Crouch, Senior Producer, News and Public Affairs, South Carolina Educational TelevisionFlorangela Davila, Managing Editor, Crosscut, Cascade Public Media, WashingtonGigi Douban, News Director, WBHM, Birmingham, AlabamaVincent Duffy, News Director, Michigan RadioHolly Edgell, Editor, Sharing America, St. Louis Public Media, MissouriLinnea Edmeier, Managing Editor for News and Information, Capital Public Radio, Sacramento, CaliforniaRachel Estabrook, News Director, Colorado Public RadioAnnie Feidt, Managing Editor, Alaska’s Energy Desk, Alaska Public MediaZosette Guir, Managing Producer, Detroit Public TelevisionGideon Hayes Butler, Senior Producer, NJTV, New JerseyMichael Hibblen, News Director, KUAR, Little Rock, ArkansasAdriene Hill, Senior Editor, California Dream, KPCC Southern California Public RadioAmy Jeffries, Editor, Kansas News Service, KCUR, Kansas City, MissouriDennis Kellogg, News Director, NET NebraskaJennifer Lang, Product and Audience Development Manager, WFAE, Charlotte, North CarolinaMichael Leland, News Director, Iowa Public RadioRachel Osier Lindley, Statewide Coordinating Editor, Texas Station Collaborative, KERA, DallasLaura McCallum, Managing Editor for Daily News, Minnesota Public RadioMaureen McMurray, Director of Content and Audience Development, New Hampshire Public RadioScottie Lee Meyers, Multimedia Producer, Milwaukee PBSSarah Neal-Estes, News Director, WFYI, Indianapolis, IndianaPriska Neely, Senior Early Childhood Reporter, KPCC Southern California Public RadioAshley Norwood, Senior Producer, Mississippi Public BroadcastingAmmad Omar, Supervising Editor, NPR NewsErin O’Toole, Assistant News Director, KUNC, Greeley, ColoradoJennifer Pemberton, Managing Editor, Alaska’s Energy Desk, KTOO, Juneau, AlaskaErica Peterson, Director of News and Programming, Louisville Public MediaEmily Reddy, News Director, WPSU-FM, State College, PennsylvaniaJessica Rosgaard. Producer, WWNO, New Orleans, LouisianaAvery Schneider, Assistant News Director, WBFO, Buffalo, New YorkArnie Seipel, Deputy Political Editor, National Public RadioSara Shahriari, Managing Editor, Georgia Public BroadcastingMary Shedden, News Director, WUSF, Tampa, FloridaMark Simpson, News Director, Maine Public