Cronkite Finishes First in SPJ for Third Straight Year

Wednesday, May 21, 2008


For the third consecutive year, students from the Walter Cronkite School of Journalism and Mass Communication at Arizona State University have finished first in the Society of Professional Journalists’ highly competitive intercollegiate news contest. Cronkite students won four first-places in the Mark of Excellence Awards and were national finalists in three other categories. The University of Missouri and the University of Montana finished second, each with three first-place winners and two finalists. Cronkite students won in all of the major categories – print, television, radio and online journalism. “We continue to be amazed by the extraordinary journalism our students produce each and every day,” said Cronkite School Dean Christopher Callahan. “It is especially gratifying to see our students winning across all media platforms.” SPJ received more than 3,400 entries in 39 categories. Winners in each category from SPJ’s 12 regions competed in the national competition. Cronkite students dominated Region 11 with 51 awards, including 21 first-place winners. “I encourage media executives who are looking for the next wave of high-quality journalists to pay attention to the winners of SPJ’s Mark of Excellence Awards,” said Neil Ralston, SPJ’s vice president for campus chapter affairs. “These young men and women represent some of the best that journalism programs have to offer, and we’re proud to be able to honor them at the national level.” SPJ will recognize the national winners and finalists Sept. 5 at its annual national convention in Atlanta. The national winners and finalists from the Cronkite School include: General News Reporting National Winner: Ryan Kost, “State Tries to Treat Hospital Violence” Radio Feature National Winner: Carolyn Carver, “Girl Scout Prison Program” Television Breaking News Reporting National Winner: Erika Taillole, “Memorial Union Fire” Best All-Around Independent Online Student Publication National Winner: JMC 494 Advanced Online Media, “Cronkite Zine: Spring and Fall 2007” Television In-Depth Reporting National Finalist: Cronkite NewsWatch, “MU Fire Coverage” Television News Photography National Finalist: Nikki Rowley, “Phoenix Graffiti” Television Newscast National Finalist: Cronkite NewsWatch Staff, “Cronkite NewsWatch”