Greg Crowder Memorial Photojournalism Award

Greg Crowder, a 1980 graduate and longtime photojournalist at The Riverside Press-Enterprise in California, passed away in 2005. While a student at ASU, he worked for The State Press, ASU’s independent student newspaper, and interned at The Arizona Republic.

The Greg Crowder Memorial Photojournalism Award was created in 2010 to honor Cronkite alumnus and photojournalist Greg Crowder. His parents, Troy and Betsy Crowder of Chandler, Arizona, established the Greg Crowder Memorial Photojournalism Award and an endowment at the Cronkite School to honor the life and spirit of their late son.

Each year’s winners are selected by a committee of Cronkite School faculty and professional photojournalists.

The winner of the annual award receives a $1,500 prize, and his or her photos are exhibited at the Cronkite School for a year. New this year, an additional prize of $500 will go to the second-place winner. Up to three finalists will be recognized.


The contest is open to all Cronkite students who have taken at least six journalism credits.

Students who have placed first in the contest are not eligible to enter again.

Submission requirements

  • Submit six to eight photographs that show a range of abilities and subjects. Photos may include breaking news, portraits, features and sports.
  • Photos must have been taken between April 15, 2023, and April 15, 2024. Photos do not have to be published.
  • Provide a complete caption within the image metadata (description) and in the caption box provided on the submission form for each photo submitted.
  • Photos may not be altered digitally, except as allowed under The Associated Press ethics standards.
  • Deadline: Sunday, April 28, 2024, midnight

Judges will award first- and second-place winners while honorable mentions are awarded at the discretion of the judges. The winners of the contest will be notified this summer, and the winner will be recognized during the fall semester.

For questions contact Emmanuel Lozano at

2021 Winner: Alberto Mariani
Second Place: Marlee Smith
Honorable Mention: Samantha Chow

2020 Winner: Brady Klain
Second Place: Harrison Zhang
Honorable Mention: Marlee Smith

2019 Winner: Nicholas Badders
Second Place: Anya Magnuson
Honorable Mention: Ellen O’Brien

2018 Winner: Nicole Neri
Second Place: Ben Moffat
Honorable Mentions: Anya Magnuson and Megan Janetsky

2017 Winner: Courtney Pedroza
Second Place: Ben Moffat
Honorable Mention: Reilly Kneedler

2016 Winner: Courtney Pedroza
Second Place: Reilly Kneedler
Honorable Mention: Ben Moffat

2015 Winner: Dominic Valente
Second Place: Sean Logan
Honorable Mention: Carla Leon
Honorable Mention: Ben Moffat

2014 Winner: Connor Radnovich
Second Place: Carla Leon
Honorable Mention: Adrian Borunda
Honorable Mention: Cierra Eubank

2013 Winner: Danielle Gregory
Honorable Mention: Peter Haden
Honorable Mention: Diana Lustig
Honorable Mention: Cydney McFarland

2012 Winner: Aaron Lavinsky
Honorable Mention: Blake Wilson
Honorable Mention: Stephanie Snyder
Honorable Mention: Duyen Tran

2011 Winner: Molly J. Smith
Honorable Mention: Michel Duarte
Honorable Mention: Lauren Hillhouse
Honorable Mention: Stephanie Snyder

2010 Winner: Damien Maloney
Honorable Mention: Kara Horowitz
Honorable Mention: Matt Pavelek
Honorable Mention: Branden Eastwood

Cash award

Winner receives $1,500