Cronkite Endowment Board of Trustees

About the Endowment Board

Cronkite’s Endowment Board of Trustees is composed of top media leaders from across the Valley. Trustees advise the dean, support students through mentorship and internship and career opportunities, and philanthropically support the school’s priority funding needs. Trustees also help spearhead the school’s signature fundraising event, the Cronkite Award for Excellence in Journalism.

Executive committee

  • Richard Barone, vice president, Cox Media; co-chair, Student Experience committee
  • Battinto L. Batts Jr., dean and professor, Walter Cronkite School of Journalism and Mass Communication
  • Kim Covington, vice president, community initiatives, Arizona Community Foundation; member, Student Experience committee
  • Christine Dotts, head of public relations, TSMC Arizona; board president
  • Ryan Hatch, senior vice president and market manager, Bonneville Phoenix; co-chair, Student Experience committee
  • Anita Helt, vice president and general manager, ABC15 Arizona and CW61 Arizona; past president
  • Fran Mallace, chief executive officer, Make-A-Wish Arizona; co-chair, Development committee
  • Ray Schey, publisher, Phoenix Business Journal; chair, Academic Experience committee
  • John Schurz, president and general manager, Orbitel Communications; co-chair, Development committee

Board members

  • Susan Bitter Smith, executive director, Southwest Cable Communications Association
  • Rebecca Blatt, senior associate dean, Walter Cronkite School of Journalism and Mass Communication
  • David J. Bodney, senior counsel, Ballard Spahr LLP
  • Alan Bunnell, senior consultant – strategic communication, Arizona Public Service
  • Greg Burton, executive editor, The Arizona Republic/
  • Debbie Bush, vice president/general manager, KTVK/KPHO Arizona’s Family
  • Andrew Deschapelles, president and general manager, Telemundo Arizona
  • Jamie Ernst, executive vice president, Brodeur Partners
  • Damon Gross, manager of content and editorial operations, Freeport-McMoRan
  • Derrick Hall, president and CEO, Arizona Diamondbacks
  • Roger Hurni, managing partner and chief creative officer, Off Madison Ave
  • Meagan Jackman, president and CMO, The Harkey Group
  • Gordon James, owner, Gordon C. James Public Relations
  • Dawn Jones, chief diversity and inclusion officer, vice president of social impact, Intel Corporation
  • Susan Karis, vice president of sales, Hubbard Phoenix/2060 Digital
  • Matthew E. Kelley, of Counsel, Ballard Spahr LLP
  • Chris Kline, president and CEO, Arizona Broadcasters Association
  • Michael Lewis, senior vice president and general manager, FOX 10
  • Linda Little, president, Arizona region, iHeartMedia
  • Lynn Londen, CEO, AZTV Channel 7
  • Michael Mallace, general manager, East Valley Institute of Technology / The Pulse 88.7 (KVIT FM) and founder, MHM Consulting
  • Kelly Mero, publisher, Arizona Highways Magazine
  • Kate Morris, president and general manager, 12 News (KPNX-TV)
  • Elizabeth Murphy Burns, president and chief executive officer, Morgan Murphy Media
  • David Nobs, managing director, growth & development, LAVIDGE
  • Andy Parnell, president, LaneTerralever
  • Tim Riester, founder and CEO, RIESTER
  • Robert Stieve, editor in chief, Arizona Highways Magazine
  • Diane Veres, regional president, Clear Channel Outdoor-Southwest
  • Clancy Woods, co-founder, CEO and director, AFCM, Inc.