Home / Real-World Experiences / Student Awards / Greg Crowder Memorial Photojournalism Award

Greg Crowder Memorial Photojournalism Award

The Greg Crowder Memorial Photojournalism Award was created in 2010 to honor Cronkite alumnus and photojournalist Greg Crowder.

Greg Crowder, a 1980 graduate and longtime photojournalist at The Riverside Press-Enterprise in California, passed away in 2005. While a student at ASU, he worked for The State Press, ASU’s independent student newspaper, and interned at The Arizona Republic.

His parents, Troy and Betsy Crowder of Chandler, Arizona, established the Greg Crowder Memorial Photojournalism Award and an endowment at the Cronkite School to honor the life and spirit of their late son.

Each year’s winners are selected by a committee of Cronkite School faculty and professional photojournalists.

The winner of the annual award receives a $1,000 prize, and his or her photos are exhibited at the Cronkite School for a year. Up to three finalists also are honored at an annual reception in September.

2019 Crowder Award Honorees
Winner: Nicholas Badders
Second Place: Anya Magnuson
Honorable Mention: Ellen O’Brien

2019 Crowder Award Judges
Kristin Gilger, senior associate dean, Cronkite School
Con Keyes, former photography editor, Los Angeles Times
Mark Morris, former senior editor/multimedia, Sacramento Bee