Home / News and Events / News / Cronkite Students Win Numerous National and Industry Awards in 2014-2015

Cronkite Students Win Numerous National and Industry Awards in 2014-2015

July 19, 2015

Arizona State University students at the Walter Cronkite School of Journalism and Mass Communication took home a diverse array of awards and recognition in reporting, photojournalism and entrepreneurship, among other areas, for work done during the 2014-2015 academic year.

Students received recognition from the Associated Collegiate Press, Biotech University, the Edson Student Entrepreneur Initiative and the Intercollegiate Broadcasting System, among others.

“This was a tremendous year for our students,” said Cronkite School Associate Dean Kristin Gilger. “They produced work that rivals professional media organizations, and we are extremely proud of their accomplishments.”

Associated Collegiate Press Online Pacemaker Competition
The State Press, the independent, student-operated news outlet of ASU, was named a finalist in the online-only category for the Associated Collegiate Press Online Pacemaker Competition. Cronkite alumna Julia Shumway served as editor of the publication during the win.

Winners will be announced during the ACP/CMA Fall National College Media Convention in Austin, Texas, this fall. The ACP is the oldest and largest national membership organization for college student journalists.

Biotech University
Jacqueline Padilla took second place in the annual Biotech University contest. She received a $1,500 scholarship for a broadcast report on genetically modified organism labeling.

Biotech University is a one-day spring seminar that introduces journalism students from across the country to the emerging science of biotechnology. In all, 11 Cronkite students participated in the event as well as 32 journalism students and working journalists from across the country.

Edson Student Entrepreneur Initiative
Recent Cronkite graduate David Van En is a recipient of a grant from the Edson Student Entrepreneur Initiative for PACE Development Group, a venture providing survival training for journalists reporting in high-risk areas. Edson annually supports the top 20 ASU student startups, giving entrepreneurs up to $20,000 to develop innovative ideas and launch viable businesses.

Melissa Brennan was awarded a Great Little Companies Network grant for Sravel, a collaborative travel planning website that uses social media to connect people. The Great Little Companies Network expands ASU’s commitment to entrepreneurship by offering $3,000 to up to 30 student startups a year.

The Gracies Awards
Cronkite student Peyton Gallovich won a Gracies Award in the category of Outstanding Talk Show – News for the Deaf and Hearing Network, a newscast she created with her sign language instructor, Dyan Kovacs, which connects the deaf and hearing communities.

Established by the Alliance for Women in Media, the Gracies recognize exemplary programming created for women, by women and about women in all facets of media and entertainment, as well as individuals who have made contributions to the industry.

Greg Crowder Memorial Photojournalism Award
Recent Cronkite graduate Dominic Valente took first place in the Cronkite School’s annual Greg Crowder Memorial Photojournalism Award contest. Valente’s winning photos featured a range of human emotions. Sean Logan received second place in the contest and Carla Leon and Ben Moffat both earned honorable mentions. Valente will be honored during an awards reception at the Cronkite School on Oct. 5.

The Greg Crowder Memorial Photojournalism Award was created in 2010 to honor Cronkite alumnus and photojournalist Greg Crowder. The winner of the annual award receives a $1,000 prize, and his or her photos are exhibited at the Cronkite School for a year. Greg Crowder, a 1980 graduate and longtime photojournalist at The Riverside Press-Enterprise in California, passed away in 2005. His parents, Troy and Betsy Crowder of Chandler, Ariz., established the Greg Crowder Memorial Photojournalism Award and an endowment at the Cronkite School to honor the life and spirit of their late son.

Intercollegiate Broadcasting System Golden Microphone Awards
Two Cronkite students were finalists at the Intercollegiate Broadcasting System Golden Microphone Awards. Blake Benard was finalist for best live music broadcast for an interview with the band Book of Shred, which aired on The Blaze. Sydney Glenn also was a finalist for best public service promotion for The Blaze Holiday Food Drive.

The Intercollegiate Broadcasting System is a nonprofit educational association dedicated to college radio, TV, webcasting, podcasting, streaming, and high school radio.

National Film Festival for Talented Youth
Cronkite students Mauricio Casillas, Carolina Marquez, and Cammeron Neely showcased two documentaries produced in Professor John Craft’s documentary class at the National Film Festival for Talented Youth in Seattle.

NFFTY has grown into the world’s largest film festival for emerging directors. Each year, the festival showcases films by directors 24 and under. The festival regularly draws more than 800 entries from over 30 countries and is attended by more than 12,000 people.

SABEW Best in Business Competition
Recent graduate Brittany Elena Morris won in the student – professional publications category for an Arizona Daily Star story on NAFTA and its impact on farmers in southern Mexico. SABEW Best in Business Competition recognizes the very best in business reporting.

The Society of American Business Editors and Writers is an association of business journalists dedicated to promoting ethics and excellence in the profession.