Home / News and Events / News / Media Advisory: Scott Pelley to Receive Cronkite Award at Luncheon Monday

Media Advisory: Scott Pelley to Receive Cronkite Award at Luncheon Monday

November 17, 2016

Arizona State University’s Walter Cronkite School of Journalism and Mass Communication is presenting Scott Pelley, managing editor and anchor of the “CBS Evening News,” with the Walter Cronkite Award for Excellence in Journalism Monday.

Pelley will receive the 33rd Cronkite Award at a special luncheon celebration at the Sheraton Grand Phoenix hotel in downtown Phoenix. The annual Cronkite Award Luncheon has become one of the most anticipated events in the Valley, attracting more than 1,000 industry leaders from the worlds of media, politics, business and education each year.

  • Who: Scott Pelley, anchor and managing editor of the “CBS Evening News”
  • What: 33rd annual Cronkite Award Luncheon
  • When: Monday, Nov. 21, 11:30 a.m. to 1 p.m.
  • Where: Sheraton Grand Phoenix hotel, 340 N. Third St., Phoenix, AZ 85004

Photographers and videographers will have the opportunity to approach the stage to shoot close-ups of the award presentation at a designated time during the luncheon. Media space is limited; contact Cronkite School Communications Manager Joe Giordano at joe.giordano@asu.edu to reserve a space.


About Scott Pelley

Pelley, who assumed the anchor desk in 2011, has led the “CBS Evening News” to new heights. The newscast has grown its audience for five consecutive seasons and scored the broadcast’s highest ratings in 10 years.

Pelley also serves as a full-time correspondent on “60 Minutes,” where he has recently reported from Iraq on the front lines in the battle against ISIS; covered the Paris terrorist attacks; interviewed CIA Director John Brennan; and uncovered critical lapses in the U.S. security clearance process that millions of people must pass to work with America’s secrets.

Pelley has won some of journalism’s most prestigious awards. In total, he has won four George Foster Peabody Awards, three Alfred I. duPont-Columbia University Awards, three George Polk Awards, 10 Edward R. Murrow Awards and more than 30 Emmys.


About the Cronkite Award Luncheon

The Cronkite Award Luncheon is the Cronkite School’s signature fundraising event, providing crucial support for the school’s professional programs that train the next generation of journalism and media leaders.

Other Cronkite Award recipients have included TV news anchors Diane Sawyer and Robin Roberts; newspaper journalists Ben Bradlee, Helen Thomas and Bob Woodward; and media executives Katharine Graham, Al Neuharth and Bill Paley. Cronkite personally presented the award during its first quarter-century. The CBS News anchor died in 2009.

The Walter Cronkite School of Journalism and Mass Communication was named in Cronkite’s honor in 1984.