Home / News and Events / News / Journalists from Leading U.S. Media Organizations to Participate in Medical Journalism Fellowship

Journalists from Leading U.S. Media Organizations to Participate in Medical Journalism Fellowship

September 19, 2019
virtual reality

A program fellow from last year's conference experimented with virtual reality at a Mayo Clinic campus (Photo by Mayo Clinic)

Journalists from leading national media organizations such as The Wall Street Journal, NBC News and Politico are coming to Arizona State University’s Walter Cronkite School of Journalism and Mass Communication and the Mayo Clinic for five days of intensive medical journalism training.

Eighteen journalists have been selected to participate in the Mayo Clinic-Cronkite Medical Journalism Fellowship. The group will receive hands-on training at the Mayo Clinic’s campuses in Phoenix and Scottsdale, and at the Cronkite School on ASU’s downtown Phoenix campus. The all-expense-paid program runs Sept. 22-27, 2019.

At the Mayo Clinic, fellows attend in-depth sessions on regenerative medicine, augmented human intelligence and other medical innovations. Additionally, they are given the opportunity to participate in situations that simulate the high pressure that doctors regularly face in emergency and operating rooms.

While in sessions at the Cronkite School, fellows will engage in workshops on data journalism, narrative writing, investigative reporting, and social media, among other topics. The program is led by Julia Wallace, the Cronkite School’s Frank Russell Chair in the Business of Journalism and former editor-in-chief of The Atlanta Journal-Constitution.

“I’m thrilled to be working with such an all-star group of fellows,” Wallace said. “They have remarkable experience and have done great work in providing quality information about health care.”

Some of the faculty participating from the Cronkite School include Sarah Cohen, a Pulitzer-winning editor; Fernanda Santos, author and former New York Times Phoenix bureau chief; Maud Beelman, executive editor of Cronkite’s Howard Center for Investigative Journalism; and Retha Hill, director of the New Media Innovation and Entrepreneurship Lab.

Presenters from the Mayo Clinic include:

  • Michael Bostwick, M.D.
  • Paru David, M.D.
  • Julia Files, M.D.
  • Richard Gray, M.D.
  • Diane Jelinek, Ph.D.
  • Jewel Kling, M.D.
  • Steven Lester, M.D.
  • Martina Mookadam, M.D.
  • Bhavika Patel, M.D.
  • Joseph Sirven, M.D.
  • Kristin Swanson, Ph.D.
  • Richard Zimmerman, M.D.

The fellowship is part of the Mayo Clinic and ASU Alliance for Health Care, a transformative research partnership designed to improve all aspects of health care delivery through research and collaboration. Announced in 2016, the partnership aims to transform medical education and health care in the U.S., helping doctors reduce costs, simplify the system and save more lives.

The 2019 Mayo Clinic-Cronkite Medical Journalism fellow:

  • Brianna Abbott, The Wall Street Journal
  • Rasha Ali, USA TODAY
  • Fabiola Czubaj, La Nacion
  • Amanda Eisenberg, POLITICO
  • Brianna Fay, ABC6 Rochester
  • Ali Galante, NBC News
  • Angela Gonzales, Phoenix Business Journal
  • Nohelani Graf, ABC15 Phoenix
  • Roy Greene, The Boston Globe
  • Molly Harbarger, The Oregonian
  • Ashley Lopez, KUT-FM Austin
  • Carla Johnson, The Associated Press
  • Sandra Jordan, St. Louis American Newspaper
  • Andrew Joseph, STAT
  • Kaitlin Schroeder, Cox Media Group Ohio
  • Alex Smith, KCUR-FM Kansas City
  • Kristen Thometz, WTTW News
  • Lindy Washburn, USA TODAY Network