Home / News and Events / News / HS Journalism Teachers Enhance Skills at Cronkite

HS Journalism Teachers Enhance Skills at Cronkite

June 17, 2012

Thirty high school journalism teachers from around the country will grow their skills at Arizona State University this summer in a training program funded by the Donald W. Reynolds Foundation and operated by the American Society of News Editors.

In its sixth year at the Walter Cronkite School of Journalism and Mass Communication, the two-week institute immerses teachers in specialized skills such as writing, editing, reporting, multimedia, layout and photojournalism, and is also providing grounding in professional ethics, the First Amendment and scholastic press freedom.

Participants, many from under-represented high schools, are supplied with housing, meals, continuing-education credit and instructional materials free of charge.

The boot-camp style workshop is taught by Steve Elliott, director of digital news for the Cronkite School’s professional reporting program Cronkite News Service.

"Teachers have consistently called this a once-in-a-lifetime opportunity to acquire skills and establish professional connections that benefit countless students over the years," Elliott said.

The Reynolds High School Journalism Institute will take place in the Cronkite School’s state-of-the-art media complex in downtown Phoenix from June 17 to 29. The other Reynolds institutes will be held on the following campuses:
• University of Texas at Austin, June 17-29
• Kent State University, July 8-20
• University of Nevada, Reno, July 8-20
• University of Missouri, Columbia, July 15-27

The Donald W. Reynolds Foundation is a national philanthropic organization founded in 1954 by the late media entrepreneur for whom it is named. Headquartered in Las Vegas, it has committed over $100 million through its journalism initiative.

The American Society of News Editors is comprised of top editors at news organizations; deans, directors and endowed chairs at accredited journalism schools; and leaders of journalism foundations and training organizations.

2012 Reynolds High School Journalism Institute participants:
Bidjan Aminian, Dublin High School, Dublin, Calif.
Elaine Broussard, Belle Chasse High School, Belle Chasse, La.
Steve Caswell, Simi Valley High School, Simi Valley, Calif.
Rhonda Dickens, Chisolm Trail High School, Fort Worth, Texas
Debbie Glenn, Blue Valley West High School, Overland Park, Kan.
Sara Hennes, Cody Community Schools, Detroit, Mich.
Linda Hopson, Bellaire High School, Bellaire, Texas
Heather Jancoski, Desert Sands Middle School, Phoenix
Janice Johnson, Vista del Lago High School, Folsom, Calif.
Jackie Ludka, Pleasant Valley High School, Brodheadsville, Pa.
Deann McBride, Page High School, Page, Ariz.
Sarah Noah, Goshen High School, Goshen, Ind.
Jamie Nusbaum, Sheboygan North High School, Sheboygan, Wis.
Donna Owen, McIntosh High School, Peachtree City, Ga.
Bridget Parker, Seton-La Salle High School, Pittsburgh
Ryan Peacock, Tooele High School, Tooele, Utah
Stephanie Platter, King's High School, Seattle, Wash.
Denise Powell, Bok Edward W. Technical High School, Philadelphia, Pa.
Chad Renning, Sandra Day O'Connor High School, Phoenix
Cody Roberts, Charles H. Milby High School, Houston
Kelly Robinson, Bolton High School, Arlington, Tenn.
Hannah Sagaser, Mandan High School, Mandan, N.D.
Ben Sellers, North Stafford High School, Stafford, Va.
Marlo Spritzer, Southern Lehigh Senior High School, Center Valley, Pa.
Maya Suryaraman, Santa Clara High School, Santa Clara, Calif.
Larry Wayman, Wallace Rider Farrington High School, Honolulu
Stan West, Hales Franciscan High School, Chicago
Paula Wolfe, Dubuque High School, Dubuque, Iowa
Amelia Wright, West Morris Central High School, Chester, N.J.
Sarah Zerwin, Fairview High School, Boulder, Colo.