Home / News and Events / News / Cronkite Welcomes Professors for Scripps Howard Journalism Entrepreneurship Institute

Cronkite Welcomes Professors for Scripps Howard Journalism Entrepreneurship Institute

January 4, 2016

Fifteen professors from across the U.S. and Canada are participating in a rigorous five-day workshop as part of the annual Scripps Howard Journalism Entrepreneurship Institute at Arizona State University’s Walter Cronkite School of Journalism and Mass Communication this week.

The fifth annual institute is designed to help journalism professors bring entrepreneurship into their academic programs. The Jan. 3-7 event is made possible through a grant from the Scripps Howard Foundation, the philanthropic arm of the E.W. Scripps Co.

The institute is led by Cronkite Professor of Practice Dan Gillmor, an internationally recognized author and leader in new media and entrepreneurship. This year’s event features sessions with prominent entrepreneurs, venture capitalists and investors on entrepreneurship principles, the startup community and digital product development.

“In past years, the Scripps Howard Journalism Entrepreneurship Institute has spread innovation and creativity to journalism programs across the country,” Gillmor said. “We're delighted to be partnering with the Scripps Howard Foundation again to make this groundbreaking program possible.”

Presenters include Jason Calacanis, serial entrepreneur and angel investor, Retha Hill, director of the Cronkite School New Media Innovation and Entrepreneurship Lab, Jeff Jarvis, director of the Tow-Knight Center for Entrepreneurial Journalism, Cronkite New Digital Production Director Mike Reilley, founder of the Journalist’s Toolbox, and Lara Setrakian, founder and CEO of NewsDeeply.

The 15 fellows were competitively selected, and each of their universities has committed to offer a class in journalism entrepreneurship in the year following the fellowship. Training, lodging, meals, materials and transportation are provided to the fellows at no cost to them or their universities.

The E.W. Scripps Co. is one of the nation’s largest independent media enterprises, with 33 television stations in 24 markets, 34 radio stations and a diverse group of local and national digital journalism and information businesses, expanding its digital strategies, including social gaming, for multiple platforms. Since 1941, Scripps has operated the National Spelling Bee, one of America's most-enduring celebrations of academic excellence.

2016 Scripps Howard Entrepreneurship Institute Fellows

Thomas Bass, professor of English and journalism, University at Albany-SUNY

Chandra Clark, professor of broadcast news, University of Alabama

Philippa Croome, project officer, Brookfield Institute for Innovation and Entrepreneurship/Ryerson University

Lillie Fears, professor of multimedia journalism, Arkansas State University

Paul Glader, associate professor of journalism, The King's College

Francine Huff, Knight Chair for student achievement, Florida A&M University

Yanick Rice Lamb, associate professor, Howard University

Michael Marcotte, professor of practice in journalism, University of New Mexico

Juli Metzger, instructor and coordinator of unified media, Ball State University

Brett Orzechowski, assistant professor of journalism, Utica College

Mark Poepsel, assistant professor, Southern Illinois University-Edwardsville

Timothy Regan-Porter, director, Center for Collaborative Journalism at Mercer University

James Simon, dean, College of Arts and Sciences at New York Institute of Technology

Len Strazewski, associate professor of computer-assisted reporting/new media, Columbia College Chicago

Matt Tullis, assistant professor of journalism and digital media, Ashland University