Home / News and Events / News / Cronkite Students Shine at Rocky Mountain Emmys

Cronkite Students Shine at Rocky Mountain Emmys

September 28, 2018


Cronkite School

Cronkite student Lillian Donahue won two Student Production Awards at this year's Rocky Mountain Emmys.


Students from Arizona State University’s Walter Cronkite School of Journalism and Mass Communication dominated the regional intercollegiate contest for the Rocky Mountain Emmys.

Cronkite students took home seven Student Production Awards at the 41st annual Rocky Mountain Emmy Awards, the most of any school. The Cronkite School has won 49 Student Production Awards since 2009, the most by any university in the regional contest, which is organized by the Rocky Mountain Southwest Chapter of the National Academy of Television Arts and Sciences.

“The award-winning work our students produced under the guidance of our faculty made a significant impact right here in Arizona and beyond,” said Cronkite School Dean Christopher Callahan. “We’re extremely proud of their hard work.”

Cronkite students, who received the awards Saturday in Phoenix, won across a variety of categories, including news, sports and non-fiction.

Cronkite student Lillian Donahue received two awards, one for her report on humanitarian aid groups struggling to help people along the U.S.-Mexico border as well as a profile on a family of dancers. Donahue led all student nominees with five total Student Production Award nominations.

“Troubled Water,” a Carnegie-Knight News21 investigation featuring 29 college journalism students from 18 different universities who collaborated at the Cronkite School, won in College Public Affairs/Community Service for its in-depth, multimedia exploration of drinking water contamination in communities across the country.

Amanda Mason won in Short Form Non-Fiction for her profile of Puerto Rico’s struggle to rebuild following Hurricane Maria in 2017. Cronkite News staff also won for its “Full Circle” program.

Tyler Paley’s report about a DACA-recipient boxer won the College Sports category, and Blaine McCormick won in College Craft: Talent.

Arizona PBS, operated by the Cronkite School, won two Emmy Awards, one in Audio-Live or Post Production as well as Program Editor (Non-News).

Arizona PBS’s David Angell and Alex Kosoirek won Audio-Live or Post Production for their recording and production of Jason Vieaux’s performance of a Bach suite, while Alex Kline earned the Editor-Program (Non-News) award.

NATAS is a professional service organization dedicated to the advancement of the arts and sciences of television and the promotion of creative leadership for artistic, educational and technical achievements within the television industry. The Rocky Mountain Southwest Chapter represents Arizona, New Mexico, Utah and El Centro, California.


2018 College Student Production Awards

College Arts and Entertainment/Cultural Affairs

Lillian Donahue, “The Duncan Dancers, a Family Affair,” Cronkite News

College Craft: Talent

Blaine McCormick, Cronkite News

College Newscast

Olivia Anderson, Haley Brand, Kevyn Gessner, Alessandra Luckey, Courtney Mally, Azucena Martinez, Demitria Pilatos and Ann Marie Schlup, “Full Circle,” Cronkite News

College News General Assignment Report

Lillian Donahue, “Aid Groups Caught in Border Battle,” Cronkite News

College Public Affairs/Community Service

Claire Caulfield, Brandon Kitchin, Jenna Miller, Corinne Roels,  Michael M. Santiago, Karl Schneider, Briana Smith, Jasmine Spearing-Bowen, Adrienne St. Clair and Nicole Tyau, “Troubled Water,” Carnegie-Knight News21

College Short Form: Non-Fiction

Amanda Mason, “Puerto Rico Recovery Six Months After Maria,” Cronkite News

College Sports

Tyler Paley, “DACA Boxer,” Cronkite News


Arizona PBS Rocky Mountain Emmys

Audio-Live or Post Production

David Angell and Alex Kosoirek, “Jason Vieaux Performs Bach: Lute Suite No. 3 in E minor, BWV 996: Courante,” Arizona PBS

Editor – Program (Non-News)

Alexander Kline, Arizona PBS