Home / News and Events / Events / Category Listing / Cronkite Award Luncheon

Cronkite Award Luncheon


 Judy Woodruff and Gwen Ifill


Join the Walter Cronkite School of Journalism and Mass Communication and the Cronkite Endowment Board of Trustees in honoring the 2017 recipients of the Walter Cronkite Award for Excellence in Journalism, award-winning anchor and managing editor of the “PBS NewsHour,” Judy Woodruff, and the late Gwen Ifill at the 34th annual Cronkite Award Luncheon.

Thursday, Oct. 19, at 11:30 a.m.
Sheraton Grand Phoenix hotel
340 N. Third St.
Phoenix, AZ 85004

Online registration is now closed. If you wish to purchase at tickets for the 2017 Cronkite Luncheon, please call 602-496-5052.

The annual Cronkite Award Luncheon has become one of the most anticipated events in the Valley, attracting more than 1,000 guests every year, including industry leaders from the worlds of media, politics, business and education.

The Cronkite Award Luncheon is the Cronkite School’s signature fundraising event, providing crucial support for the school’s professional programs that train the next generation of journalism and media leaders.

The annual celebration concludes with the presentation of the award to a leading journalist. Past recipients have included Bob Costas, Bob Schieffer, Robin Roberts, Christiane Amanpour, Diane Sawyer, Robert MacNeil and Jim Lehrer, Tom Brokaw, Jane Pauley, Katharine Graham, Bob Woodward, Helen Thomas, Ben Bradlee and George Will. The 2016 honoree was Scott Pelley.