Home / News and Events / Events / Category Listing / Cronkite Award Ceremony

Cronkite Award Ceremony


Dean Baquet


The annual Cronkite Award Ceremony has become one of the most anticipated events in the Valley, attracting more than 1,000 guests every year, including industry leaders from the worlds of media, politics, business and education.

The Cronkite Award Ceremony is the Cronkite School’s signature fundraising event, providing crucial support for the school’s professional programs that train the next generation of journalism and media leaders. Tickets can be purchased here.

The annual celebration concludes with the presentation of the award to a leading journalist. Past Cronkite Award recipients include TV news anchors Scott Pelley, Diane Sawyer, Judy Woodruff and Gwen Ifill; newspaper journalists Ben Bradlee, Helen Thomas and Bob Woodward; and media executives Katharine Graham, Al Neuharth and William Paley. Cronkite personally presented the award during its first quarter-century until the CBS News anchor died in 2009.