Home / Crowder Award Winners

Crowder Award Winners

The Cronkite School is accepting submissions for the 10th annual Greg Crowder Memorial Photojournalism Award Contest. In addition to the winning photographer's work being prominently displayed in the Cronkite building for a year, they will receive recognition for their photography and a $1,000 award.

A panel of professional judges will award first- and second-place winners and may award honorable mentions. The contest will be judged and the winners will be notified this summer. They will then be recognized at a reception to be held early fall 2019.


  • The contest is open to all Cronkite students who have taken at least six journalism credits.
  • Students must submit six to eight photographs that show a range of abilities and subjects. Photos may include breaking news, portraits, features and sports.
  • Photos must have been taken between April 15, 2018 and April 15, 2019. Photos do not have to be published.
  • Please provide a URL linking to your photos.
  • Provide a complete caption for each photo submitted.
  • Photos may not be altered digitally, except as allowed under the Associated Press ethics standards.
  • Students who have placed first in the contest are not eligible to enter again.

Crowder Award Honorees

2019 Winner: Nicholas Badders
Second Place: Anya Magnuson
Honorable Mention: Ellen O’Brien
2018 Winner: Nicole Neri
Second Place: Ben Moffat
Honorable Mentions: Anya Magnuson and Megan Janetsky
2017 Winner: Courtney Pedroza
Second Place: Ben Moffat
Honorable Mention: Reilly Kneedler
2016 Winner: Courtney Pedroza
Second Place: Reilly Kneedler
Honorable Mention: Ben Moffat
2015 Winner: Dominic Valente
Second Place: Sean Logan
Honorable Mention: Carla Leon
Honorable Mention: Ben Moffat
2014 Winner: Connor Radnovich
Second Place: Carla Leon
Honorable Mention: Adrian Borunda
Honorable Mention: Cierra Eubank
2013 Winner: Danielle Gregory
Honorable Mention: Peter Haden
Honorable Mention: Diana Lustig
Honorable Mention: Cydney McFarland
2012 Winner: Aaron Lavinsky
Honorable Mention: Blake Wilson
Honorable Mention: Stephanie Snyder
Honorable Mention: Duyen Tran
2011 Winner: Molly J. Smith
Honorable Mention: Michel Duarte
Honorable Mention: Lauren Hillhouse
Honorable Mention: Stephanie Snyder
2010 Winner: Damien Maloney
Honorable Mention: Kara Horowitz
Honorable Mention: Matt Pavelek
Honorable Mention: Branden Eastwood