Home / Content / PR Lab Mentorship Lecture and Aspire Award

PR Lab Mentorship Lecture and Aspire Award

The PR Lab Mentorship Lecture, established in honor of Enid R. Pansky, is the Cronkite School’s signature public relations event.

The annual lecture and award program is made possible, in part, through a generous gift from Scott Pansky, co-founder of Allison+Partners, a global public relations firm. The lecture honors the entrepreneurial spirit of Mr. Pansky’s mother, who served as a mentor to many.

In the spirit of Enid R. Pansky, the event brings a nationally recognized PR practitioner to the Cronkite School each year to meet with students and mentor a senior-level PR student. During the day, the mentor meets one-on-one with his or her aspiring protégé to discuss career goals and professional development.

The day concludes with the PR Lab Mentorship Lecture at which the protégé introduces his or her mentor who then presents the Aspire Award, recognizing the student’s achievements and desire to emulate the career and character of the mentor.

Aspire Award Recipients 

2018: Jackson Dorsey

2017: Caitlin Bohrer

2016: Morgan Rath

2015: Tayllor Lillestol

2014: Torunn Sinclair

2013: Danielle (Chavez) Trevino

Mentorship Lecture Presenters (their affiliation at the time of presentation)

2018: Alex Thompson, vice president of brand stewardship and impact at REI

2017: Corey duBrowa, senior vice president of global communications and international public affairs at Starbucks

2016: Ashleigh Gardner, head of writer and publisher partnerships at Wattpad

2015: John J. Nicoletti, vice president for internal communications at Walt Disney Parks and Resorts

2014: Gail Adams-Jackson, director of communications for the International Association of Geophysical Contractors

2013: Glen Broom,  professor emeritus at San Diego State University