Associate Faculty

The adjunct faculty at the Walter Cronkite School of Journalism and Mass Communication represents the best and brightest of the journalism community across the Phoenix metropolitan area, which is one of the largest media markets in the country. The part-time faculty includes current and former editors, reporters, designers, producers and public relations specialists from the region’s top newspapers, TV and radio stations, magazines, websites, PR firms and corporations.

Each year, one adjunct faculty member is recognized as the outstanding faculty associate of the year. Past winners include:

2017-2018 - Maureen West
2015-2016 - Tom Fergus
2014-2015 - Greg Boeck
2013-2014 - Elvia Diaz
2012-2013 - Allysa Adams
2011-2012 - Gilbert Zermeño
2010-2011 - Tom Blodgett
2009-2010 - Richard Ruelas
2008-2009 - Jennifer Johnson and Andrea Decker
2007-2008 - Wilma Mathews
2006-2007 - Norm Ginsburg

The associate faculty are:

Tim Agnes
Blogger, AttackOfTheDad.com
tim.agne@asu.edu

Ameema Ahmed
Associate editor, Arizona Highways Magazine
aahmed10@asu.edu

Robert Anglen
Investigative reporter, The Arizona Republic/azcentral.com
ranglen@asu.edu

Eduardo Ayala
Investigative producer/photojournalist, CBS 5, KPHO-TV
eduardo.ayala@asu.edu

Brian Bender
Defense editor, Politico
bryan.bender@asu.edu

Jay Bennett
jay.bennett@asu.edu

Tom Blodgett
Editor, Community Impact Newspapers
thomas.blodgett@asu.edu

Greg Boeck
Former sports writer, USA Today Network
gboeck@asu.edu

Sonia Bovio
Doctoral student
sbovio@asu.edu

Patrick Breen
Photographer, The Arizona Republic/azcentral.com
pjbreen1@asu.edu

Joseph Camporeale
Freelance photographer
joseph.camporeale@asu.edu

Chris Cole
Sports producer, The Arizona Republic/azcentral.com
cjcole3@asu.edu

Mike Cruz
Breaking news editor, The Arizona Republic/azcentral.com
michael.e.cruz@asu.edu

Kevin Curran
Former TV assignment editor
kjcurran@asu.edu

Roy Dabner
Photojournalist, European Passport Agency
roy.dabner@asu.edu

Mark Dalton
SVP media relations, SVP, Arizona Cardinals
mark.dalton@asu.edu

Katherine Davis-Young
Freelance journalist
kdavisyo@asu.edu

Isaac Easley
Content producer, Phoenix Suns
ieasley@asu.edu

Heather Eaton
Educator, Cronkite School
heather.eaton@asu.edu

Chuck Emmert
Station manager, know99 TV, City of Phoenix
cemmert@asu.edu

Tom Fergus
Videographer/reporter, FOX 10, KSAZ-TV
thomas.fergus@asu.edu

Ali Forbes
Faculty adviser, KASC 1330 AM, Blaze Radio
abforbes@asu.edu

Lynn French
Photographer/videographer, FOX 10, KSAZ-TV
lynn.french@asu.edu

Joseph Garcia
Director of Communication, ASU Morrison Institute for Public Policy
Joseph.C.Garcia@asu.edu

Christia Gibbons
Freelance journalist
christia.gibbons@asu.edu

David Gordon
Copy editor, The Arizona Republic/azcentral.com
david.gordon.1@asu.edu

Tracy Greer
Editor, The Athletic
tracy.greer@asu.edu

Jordan Hamm
Reporter, Sports360AZ
jordan.hamm@asu.edu

Mike Harris
Multimedia journalist, City of Glendale
michael.l.harris@asu.edu

Denise Hawken-Collins
Stage manager, Fox Sports Arizona
denisehc@asu.edu

Kristin Hege
CEO & founder, Convey Communications
kristin.hege@asu.edu

William Hill
Former sports editor
wjhill47@hotmail.com

Sean Holstege
Freelance journalist
sholsteg@asu.edu

Courtland Jeffrey
Data journalist, ABC15 Arizona, KNXV-TV
cejeffre@asu.edu

Weldon Johnson
Reporter, The Arizona Republic/azcentral.com
weldon.b.johnson@asu.edu

Sarah Kezele
Freelance host
sarahkezele@gmail.com

Michael Kiefer
michael.kiefer.1@asu.edu

Steve Kilar
Communications director, American Civil Liberties Union of Arizona
skilar@asu.edu

Syleste Knudson
TV news anchor, Fox 10 KSAZ-TV
Syleste.knudson@asu.edu

Nicole Koester
TV news professional
nicole.koester@asu.edu

Alex Lancial
Managing director, Scale Storytelling
alancial@asu.edu

Kailey Latham
News producer, ABC15 Arizona, KNXV-TV
kailey.latham@asu.edu

Christine Lavelle
Director of content development, Winsight LLC
christine.lavelle@asu.edu

Jane Lee
Reporter, MLB.com
jmlee49@asu.edu

Carl Lemon
Freelance videographer
carl.lemon@asu.edu

Al Macias
News director, KJZZ Radio
amacias@kjzz.org

Peter Madrid
Owner, Madrid Media
peter.madrid@asu.edu

Tuesday Mahrle
Digital projects manager, Times Media Group
amanada.mahrle@asu.edu

Kirsten Markson
Director of insights and planning, Tallwave
kirsten.markson@asu.edu

Ian McGibboney
Page editor, USA Today Network
ian.mcgibboney@asu.edu

Holliday Moore
Reporter, KJZZ Radio
holliday.moore@asu.edu

Edward Olsen
Owner, ReThinc advertising/Line Drive Sports marketing
ewolsen@asu.edu

Janette Reagor
Senior journalist, The Arizona Republic/azcentral.com
jreagor@asu.edu

Gail Rhodes
Sports reporter
gail.rhodes@asu.edu

James Ross
james.r.bowen@asu.edu

Richard Ruelas
Reporter, The Arizona Republic/azcentral.com
rruelas@asu.edu

Jeffrey Schneider
Executive producer, 12 News, KPNX-TV
jmschne8@asu.edu

Celeste Sepessy
Editor, ASU News Co/Lab
csepessy@asu.edu

Jason Snavely
Host/producer, FOX Sports Arizona
jsnavely@asu.edu

Glen Stephens
Broadcast & multimedia director, City of Mesa
gstephe@asu.edu

Jason Stone
Reporter, East Valley Tribune
jason.t.stone@asu.edu

Mike Sunnucks
Writer, Sports Business Journal
michael.sunnucks@asu.edu

Brian Turner
Training designer, eLearn and media, Maricopa County
brian.l.turner@asu.edu

Ryan Woodcock
Director of communications, Waste Management Phoenix Open
ryan.woodcock@asu.edu

Bob Young
Former sports reporter, Arizona Republic/azcentral.com
robert.l.young@asu.edu