Associate Faculty

The adjunct faculty at the Walter Cronkite School of Journalism and Mass Communication represents the best and brightest of the journalism community across the Phoenix metropolitan area, which is one of the largest media markets in the country. The part-time faculty includes current and former editors, reporters, designers, producers and public relations specialists from the region’s top newspapers, TV and radio stations, magazines, websites, PR firms and corporations.

Each year, one adjunct faculty member is recognized as the outstanding faculty associate of the year. Past winners include:

2016-2017 - Maureen West
2015-2016 - Tom Fergus
2014-2015 - Greg Boeck
2013-2014 - Elvia Diaz
2012-2013 - Allysa Adams
2011-2012 - Gilbert Zermeño
2010-2011 - Tom Blodgett
2009-2010 - Richard Ruelas
2008-2009 - Jennifer Johnson and Andrea Decker
2007-2008 - Wilma Mathews
2006-2007 - Norm Ginsburg

The associate faculty are:

Ameema Ahmed
Content planner, ABC15, KNXV-TV
ameema.ahmed@asu.edu

Eduardo Ayala
Investigative producer/photojournalist, CBS 5, KPHO-TV
eduardo.ayala@asu.edu

Bryan Bender
Defense editor, POLITICO
bryan.bender@asu.edu

Tom Blodgett
Editor, Community Impact Newspapers
thomas.blodgett@asu.edu

Greg Boeck
Former sports writer, USA Today
gboeck@asu.edu

Dennis Bonilla
Chief Technology Officer, Baltu Studios
dennis.bonilla@asu.edu

Torie Bosch
Future Tense editor, Slate
tbosch2@asu.edu

Sonia Bovio
Doctoral student
sbovio@asu.edu

Jamie Bowen
Doctoral student
james.r.bowen@asu.edu

Patrick Breen
Photographer, The Arizona Republic/azcentral.com
pjbreen1@asu.edu

Christy Bricks
Producer, 12 News, KPNX-TV
christy.bricks@12news.com

Joseph Camporeale
Freelance photographer
joseph.camporeale@asu.edu

Lindsey Collom
Breaking news editor, The Arizona Republic/azcentral.com
lcollom@asu.edu

Roy Dabner
Photojournalist, European Passport Agency
roy.dabner@asu.edu

Ebonye Delaney
Media production instructional coordinator, Arizona PBS
ebonye.delaney@asu.edu

Gregg Elder
Media specialist, University of Arizona
gaelder@asu.edu

Chuck Emmert
Station manager, know99 TV, City of Phoenix
cemmert@asu.edu

Tom Fergus
Photographer/reporter, FOX 10, KSAZ-TV
thomas.fergus@asu.edu

Ali Forbes
Faculty adviser, KASC 1330 AM, Blaze Radio
abforbes@asu.edu

Joseph Garcia
Director of Latino Public Policy Center, ASU Morrison Institute for Public Policy
joseph.c.garcia@asu.edu

Christia Gibbons
Freelance journalist
christia.gibbons@asu.edu

Bill Goodykoontz
Film critic, The Arizona Republic/USA Today Network
billgoody@gmail.com

David Gordon
Copy editor, The Arizona Republic/azcentral.com
dgordon6@asu.edu

Jordan Hamm
Reporter, Sports360AZ
jordanthamm@gmail.com

Mike Harris
Multimedia journalist, City of Glendale
michael.l.harris@asu.edu

Denise Hawken-Collins
Stage manager, Fox Sports Arizona
denisehc@asu.edu

Ceasar Hernandez
Technical producer, 3TV, KTVK-TV
ceasar.hernandez.1@asu.edu

Sean Holstege
Freelance journalist
sholsteg@asu.edu

Sarah Kezele
Freelance journalist
skezele@asu.edu

Syleste Knudson
News anchor, FOX 10, KSAZ-TV
syleste.knudson@asu.edu

Nicole Koester
TV news professional
nicole.koester@asu.edu

Christopher Krull
Doctoral student
ckrull2@asu.edu

Carl Lemon
Freelance videographer
carl.lemon@asu.edu

Ilana Lowery
Executive editor, Business Real Estate Weekly
ilana.lowery@asu.edu

Al Macias
News director, KJZZ Radio
amacias@kjzz.org

Peter Madrid
Owner, Madrid Media
peter.madrid@asu.edu

Jim Manley
CEO, Manley Films & Media
james.p.manley@asu.edu

Kirsten Markson
Director of insights and planning, Tallwave
kirsten.markson@asu.edu

Holliday Moore
Reporter, KJZZ Radio
holliday.moore@asu.edu

Edward Olsen
Owner, ReThinc advertising/Line Drive Sports marketing
ewolsen@asu.edu

John Pierce
Doctoral student
john.pierce@asu.edu

Maria Polletta
Reporter, The Arizona Republic/azcentral.com
maria.polletta@asu.edu

Penelope Price
Documentary filmmaker
pprice2@asu.edu

Josh Rawitch
Sr. Vice President, content and communications, Arizona Diamondbacks
josh.rawitch@asu.edu

Catherine Reagor
Reporter, The Arizona Republic/azcentral.com
jreagor@asu.edu

Gail Rhodes
Freelance broadcast journalist
glrhodes@asu.edu

Jose Romero
Freelance journalist
jose.m.romero@asu.edu

Donna Rossi
Retired broadcast journalist
dmrossi@asu.edu

Richard Ruelas
Reporter, The Arizona Republic/azcentral.com
rruelas@asu.edu

Jeffrey Schneider
Executive producer, 12 News, KPNX-TV
jmschne8@asu.edu

Celeste Sepessy
Editor, Casual Astronaut marketing
c.sepessy@gmail.com

Amy Silverman
Freelance writer
amy.silverman@asu.edu

Jason Stone
Freelance journalist
jason.t.stone@asu.edu

Mike Sunnucks
Writer, Sports Business Journal
michael.sunnucks@asu.edu

Sarah Ventre
Senior producer, KJZZ Radio
sarah.ventre@asu.edu

Ryan Woodcock
Director of communications, Waste Management Phoenix Open
ryan.woodcock@asu.edu

Bob Young
Former sports reporter, Arizona Republic/azcentral.com
robert.l.young@asu.edu