Associate Faculty

The adjunct faculty at the Walter Cronkite School of Journalism and Mass Communication represents the best and brightest of the journalism community across the Phoenix metropolitan area, which is one of the largest media markets in the country. The part-time faculty includes current and former editors, reporters, designers, producers and public relations specialists from the region’s top newspapers, TV and radio stations, magazines, websites, PR firms and corporations.

Each year, one adjunct faculty member is recognized as the outstanding faculty associate of the year. Past winners include:

2017-2018 - Maureen West
2015-2016 - Tom Fergus
2014-2015 - Greg Boeck
2013-2014 - Elvia Diaz
2012-2013 - Allysa Adams
2011-2012 - Gilbert Zermeño
2010-2011 - Tom Blodgett
2009-2010 - Richard Ruelas
2008-2009 - Jennifer Johnson and Andrea Decker
2007-2008 - Wilma Mathews
2006-2007 - Norm Ginsburg

The associate faculty are:

Ameema Ahmed
Associate editor, Arizona Highways Magazine
aahmed10@asu.edu

Eduardo Ayala
Investigative producer, CBS 5 - KPHO-TV
eduardo.ayala@asu.edu

Jay Bennett
Freelancer
jay.bennett@asu.edu

Greg Boeck
Adjunct professor, ASU
gboeck@asu.edu

Karen Bordeleau
Reynolds Visiting Professor of Journalism, Cronkite School
kbordel1@asu.edu

Sonia Bovio
Doctoral student
sbovio@asu.edu

Patrick Breen
Photojournalist, The Arizona Republic
pjbreen@asu.edu

Joseph Camporeale
Freelance photographer, USA Today - Sports Images
joseph.camporeale@asu.edu

Karen Crouse
Sportswriter, The New York Times
karen.crouse@asu.edu

Mike Cruz
Breaking news editor, The Arizona Republic/azcentral.com
michael.e.cruz@asu.edu

Roy Dabner
Photojournalist, European Passport Agency
roy.dabner@asu.edu

John D'Anna
Senior reporter, The Arizona Republic

Isaac Easley
Content producer, Phoenix Suns
ieasley@asu.edu

Gregg Elder
Media specialist, ASU
gaelder@asu.edu

Chuck Emmert
Video production supervisor, City of Phoenix
cemmert@asu.edu

Tom Fergus
Videographer/reporter, FOX 10, KSAZ-TV
thomas.fergus@asu.edu

Katherine Fitzgerald
Reporter, The Arizona Republic
kfitz134@gmail.com

Ali Forbes
Faculty teaching associate, faculty adviser, Blaze Radio
abforbes@asu.edu

Joseph Garcia
Co-director, AZ1Future.com
Joseph.C.Garcia@asu.edu

Christia Gibbons
Freelance journalist
christia.gibbons@asu.edu

Jordan Hamm
Adjunct professor, Cronkite News - Phoenix Sports Bureau
jordanthamm@gmail.com

Mike Harris
Multimedia journalist, City of Glendale
michael.l.harris@asu.edu

Rebecca Hasulak
Owner, Quotable PR & Content
rhasulak@asu.edu

Denise Hawken-Collins
Box operator, stage manager, Fox Sports Arizona
denisehc@asu.edu

Kristin Hege
CEO & founder, Convey Communications
kristin.hege@asu.edu

William Hill
Former sports editor
wjhill47@hotmail.com

Sean Holstege
Founder, CEO, WordSlinger LLC
sholsteg@asu.edu

Jody Jackson
Host, reporter, Fox Sports Arizona
jody.ackerley@asu.edu

Weldon Johnson
Reporter, The Arizona Republic/azcentral.com
weldon.b.johnson@asu.edu

Michael Kiefer
Adjunct professor
michael.kiefer.1@asu.edu

Steve Kilar
Director of Brand Management and Communications, Morrison Institute for Public Policy
skilar@asu.edu

Nicole Koester
Program manager, National Center on Disability and Journalism
nicole.koester@asu.edu

Carli Krueger
Graphic designer, Alliance Residential
carli.krueger@asu.edu

Christine Lavelle
Director of Meeting Content, Winsight LLC
christine.lavelle@asu.edu

Jane Lee
Copywriter, ASU Enterprise Partners
jmlee49@asu.edu

Carl Lemon
Freelance videographer
carl.lemon@asu.edu

Ilana Lowery
Arizona regional director, Common Sense Media

Al Macias
News director, KJZZ Radio
amacias@kjzz.org

Peter Madrid
Owner, MadridMedia
peter.madrid@asu.edu

Todd Merkow
Principal, Merkow Media
todd.merkow@asu.edu

Ian McGibboney
Page editor, USA Today Network
ian.mcgibboney@asu.edu

David Nobs
Managing director, LAVIDGE
david.nobs@asu.edu

Edward Olsen
CEO, Line Drive Sports Marketing
ewolsen@asu.edu

Josh Rawitch
Senior Vice President of Content & Communications, Arizona Diamondbacks
josh.rawitch@asu.edu

Catherine Reagor
Senior journalist, The Arizona Republic

Gail Rhodes
Adjunct professor
gail.rhodes@asu.edu

Richard Ruelas
Reporter, The Arizona Republic/azcentral.com
rruelas@asu.edu

Jeffrey Schneider
Executive producer, 12 News - KPNX-TV
jmschne8@asu.edu

Celeste Sepessy
Editor, ASU News Co/Lab
csepessy@asu.edu

Dave Seibert
Owner, Dave Seibert Media
dseibert@asu.edu

Jason Snavely
Adjunct professor
jsnavely@asu.edu

Dominic Valente
Freelance photojournalist
dvalente@asu.edu

Ryan Woodcock
Director of communications, Waste Management Phoenix Open
ryan.woodcock@asu.edu

Bob Young
Freelance writer, The Athletic
robert.l.young@asu.edu