Associate Faculty

The adjunct faculty at the Walter Cronkite School of Journalism and Mass Communication represents the best and brightest of the journalism community across the Phoenix metropolitan area, which is one of the largest media markets in the country. The part-time faculty includes current and former editors, reporters, designers, producers and public relations specialists from the region’s top newspapers, TV and radio stations, magazines, websites, PR firms and corporations.

Each year, one adjunct faculty member is recognized as the outstanding faculty associate of the year. Past winners include:

2015-2016 - Tom Fergus
2014-2015 - Greg Boeck
2013-2014 - Elvia Diaz
2012-2013 - Allysa Adams
2011-2012 - Gilbert Zermeño
2010-2011 - Tom Blodgett
2009-2010 - Richard Ruelas
2008-2009 - Jennifer Johnson and Andrea Decker
2007-2008 - Wilma Mathews
2006-2007 - Norm Ginsburg

The associate faculty are:

Jill Adair
jill.adair@asu.edu
Editor, Mesa News Today

Jay Alabaster
Doctoral candidate, Cronkite School
jay.alabaster@asu.edu

Robert Anglen
robert.anglen@asu.edu
Investigative reporter, The Arizona Republic/azcentral.com

Eduardo Ayala
eduardo.ayala@asu.edu
Investigative producer/photojournalist, CBS 5, KPHO-TV

Tom Blodgett
thomas.blodgett@asu.edu
Community content specialist, The Arizona Republic/azcentral.com

Greg Boeck
gregboeck@yahoo.com
Former sports writer, USA Today

Sonia Bovio
sbovio@asu.edu
Doctoral candidate, Cronkite School

Jamie Bowen
jrbowen3@asu.edu
Doctoral candidate, Cronkite School

Patrick Breen
pjbreen1@asu.edu
Photographer, The Arizona Republic/azcentral.com

Joseph Camporeale
joseph.camporeale@asu.edu
Contract photographer, USA Today Sports Image

Brad Cesmas
bradcesmat@asu.edu
CEO, sports360az.com

Dave Cornelius
david.cornelius@asu.edu
CEO, C4 Accel

Jayson Chesler
jaychesler@gmail.com
Co-founder, Terrainial VR

John D'Anna
john.danna@asu.edu
Senior content strategist, The Arizona Republic/azcentral.com

Ebonye Delaney
ebonye.delaney@asu.edu
Media production instructional coordinator, Arizona PBS

Justin Doom
justin.doom@asu.edu
Freelance journalist

Becca Dyer
beccadyer@aol.com
News digital producer, The Arizona Republic/azcentral.com

Isaac Easley
ikeeasley@gmail.com
Creative content producer/Phoenix Suns

Allison Forbes
abforbes@asu.edu
Doctoral candidate, Cronkite School

Tom Fergus
thomas.fergus@asu.edu
News videographer/reporter, FOX 10, KSAZ-TV

Eric Fischer
eric.fischer.1@asu.edu
Founder and CEO, HJA Strategic Consulting LLC

Joe Fortunato
joseph.fortunato@asu.edu
Faculty, ASU School of Film, Dance and Theatre

Lynn French
lynn.french@asu.edu
Photographer/Videographer, ASU Sandra Day O'Connor College of Law

Katherine Fritcke
kfritcke@asu.edu
Producer/reporter, KJZZ Radio

Joseph Garcia
joseph.c.garcia@asu.edu
Director of Latino Public Policy Center, ASU Morrison Institute for Public Policy

Dustin Gardiner
gardiner.dustin@gmail.com
State politics reporter, The Arizona Republic

Christia L. Gibbons
christia301@live.com
Writer, editor, communications consultant

Bill Goodykoontz
billgoody@gmail.com
Film critic, The Arizona Republic/USA Today Network

David Gordon
david.gordon.1@asu.edu
Copy-desk chief, The Arizona Republic

Francine Hardaway
francine@stealthmode.com
Co-founder, Stealthmode Partners

Denise Hawken-Collins
denisehc@asu.edu
Sports media professional, FOX Sports Arizona

Thomas Hawthorne
tchwatho@asu.edu
Photographer, The Arizona Republic

Ceasar Hernandez
ceasar.hernandez.1@asu.edu
Technical producer, CBS 5, KPHO-TV

Sean Holstege
sholsteg@asu.edu
Freelance journalist, Wordslinger LLC

Amber Hutchins, Ph.D.
amber.hutchins@asu.edu
Associate professor, Kennesaw State University

Courtland Jeffrey
cejeffre@asu.edu
Data visualizer/beat journalist, ABC 15, KNXV-TV

Syleste Rodriguez Knudson
syleste.knudson@asu.edu
News anchor, KSAZ Fox 10

Nicole Koester
nicole.koester@asu.edu
TV news professional

John Leach
jleach@asu.edu
Managing partner, Digital Strategies LLC

Carl Lemon
cvlemon@asu.edu
Videographer, Lemon Video

Maddie Liseblad
maddiel@asu.edu
Doctoral candidate, Cronkite School

Morgan Loew
morgan.loew@asu.edu
Investigative reporter, CBS 5, KPHO-TV

Albert Macias
amacia10@asu.edu
News director, KJZZ Radio

Peter Madrid
peter.madrid@asu.edu
Owner, Madrid Media

Carolina Márquez
carol.m@asu.edu
Creative director/co-founder, Terrainial VR

Elizabeth Mays
elizabeth.mays@asu.edu
Marketing director, Rebus Community, Pressbooks

Ted Miller
roswell.miller@asu.edu
Freelance writer

Karla Navarrete
kjnavar1@asu.edu
Freelance journalist

Kirstin Pellizzaro
kpellizz@asu.edu
Doctoral candidate, Cronkite School

Patricia Piburn
pattipiburn@asu.edu
Doctoral candidate, Cronkite School

Maria Polletta
mpollett@asu.edu
Reporter, The Arizona Republic

Josh Rawitch
josh.rawitch@asu.edu
Senior vice president, content & communications, Arizona Diamondbacks

Catherine Reagor
jreagor@asu.edu
Senior journalist, The Arizona Republic/azcentral.com

Gail Rhodes
gail.rhodes@asu.edu
Doctoral candidate, Cronkite School

Kelly Roach
kellymroach@asu.edu
Communications consultant

Jose Romero
jose.m.romero@asu.edu
Freelance writer/editor

Richard Ruelas
rruelas@asu.edu
Reporter, The Arizona Republic/azcentral.com

Mark Scarp
mark.scarp@asu.edu
Communications manager, Arizona Commerce Authority

Howard Schlossberg
howard.schlossberg@asu.edu
Sports reporter, The Arizona Republic

Jeff Schneider
jeffrey.schneider@asu.edu
Executive sports producer, 12 News, KPNX-TV

Celeste Sepessy
c.sepessy@gmail.com
Editor, Casual Astronaut marketing

Maren Showkeir
mshowkei@asu.com
Writer/editor/consultant, Maren Showkeir LLC

Andrea Smiley
andrea.c.smiley@gmail.com
Chief marketing and business development officer, Terros Health

Glen Stephens
glen.stephens@asu.edu
Broadcast and multimedia director, City of Mesa

Jason Stone
jason.t.stone@asu.edu
Radio news producer, Clear Channel Radio

Mike Sunnucks
msunnucks@bizjournals.com
Senior writer, Phoenix Business Journal

Marty Uribes
muribes@asu.edu
Freelance, Media Consultant

Maureen West
maureen.west@asu.edu
Communications consultant

Ryan Woodcock
ryan.woodcock@asu.edu
Director of communications, Waste Management Phoenix Open

Gilbert Zermeño
gilbert.zermeno@asu.edu
Investigative producer/photojournalist, CBS 5, KPHO-TV