Skip to Main Page Content

Associate Faculty

The adjunct faculty at the Walter Cronkite School of Journalism and Mass Communication represents the best and brightest of the journalism community across the Phoenix metropolitan area, which is one of the largest media markets in the country. The part-time faculty includes current and former editors, reporters, designers, producers and public relations specialists from the region’s top newspapers, TV and radio stations, magazines, websites, PR firms and corporations.

Each year, one adjunct faculty member is recognized as the outstanding faculty associate of the year. Past winners include:

2014-2015 - Greg Boeck
2013-2014 - Elvia Diaz
2012-2013 - Allysa Adams
2011-2012 - Gilbert Zermeño
2010-2011 - Tom Blodgett
2009-2010 - Richard Ruelas
2008-2009 - Jennifer Johnson and Andrea Decker
2007-2008 - Wilma Mathews
2006-2007 - Norm Ginsburg

The associate faculty are:

Allysa Adams
allysa.adams@asu.edu
Freelance journalist

Monica Alonzo
mlalonzo@asu.edu
Senior communications writer, Mercy Maricopa Integrated Care

Robert Anglen
robert.anglen@asu.edu
Business reporter, The Arizona Republic/azcentral.com

Eduardo Ayala
eduardo.ayala@asu.edu
Investigative producer/photojournalist, CBS 5, KPHO-TV

Tom Blodgett
thomas.blodgett@asu.edu
Community content specialist, The Arizona Republic/azcentral.com

Greg Boeck
gregboeck@yahoo.com
Former sports writer, USA Today

Paola Boivin
pdieffen@asu.edu
Sports columnist, The Arizona Republic/azcentral.com

Sonia Bovio
sbovio@asu.edu
Doctoral student, Cronkite School

Jamie Bowen
jrbowen3@asu.edu
Doctoral student, Cronkite School

Patrick Breen
pjbreen1@asu.edu
Photographer, The Arizona Republic/azcentral.com

Christina Caldwell
cacaldwe@asu.edu
Freelance journalist

Kristina Carlberg
kristina.carlberg@asu.edu
Public information officer, City of Peoria

Adam Causey
akcausey@gmail.com
West desk editor, The Associated Press

Brad Cesmat
brad@sports360az.com
CEO, Sports360az.com

Dave Cornelius
david.cornelius@asu.edu
Campus director, C4 Accel

Roy Dabner
rdsportpix@cox.net
Photographer, European Pressphoto Agency

John D'Anna
john.danna@asu.edu
Editor, digital / print editors, The Arizona Republic/azcentral.com

Matt Dempsey
mjdempse@asu.edu
Data reporter, Houston Chronicle

Deanna Dent
Photographer and videographer, ASU Now
deanna.dent@asu.edu

Richard de Uriarte
richdeu@gmail.com
Retired communications manager

John Dille
jdille@federatedmedia.com
President, Federated Media

Becca Dyer
beccadyer@aol.com
Page 1 copy editor, The Arizona Republic/azcentral.com

Isaac Easley
ikeeasley@gmail.com
Videographer and producer, Phoenix Suns

Larry Edsall
larry.edsall@asu.edu
Editorial director, Classic Car News

Gregg Elder
gaelder@asu.edu
Videographer, State of Arizona

Charles Emmert
cemmert@asu.edu
Station manager, Know99 Television

Tom Fergus
thomas.fergus@asu.edu
News videographer/reporter, FOX 10, KSAZ-TV

Michelle Fitzhugh-Craig
michelle.craig@asu.edu
CEO/editor-in-chief, shades Magazine

Joe Fortunato
joseph.fortunato@asu.edu
Faculty, ASU School of Film, Dance and Theatre

Josh Frigerio
joshua.frigerio@asu.edu
Real-time editor, ABC15, KNXV-TV

Joseph Garcia
joseph.c.garcia@asu.edu
Director of Latino Public Policy Center, ASU Morrison Institute for Public Policy

Christia L. Gibbons
christia301@live.com
Writer, editor, communications consultant

David Gordon
david.gordon.1@asu.edu
Copy desk chief, The Arizona Republic/azcentral.com

Tracy Greer
tracy.greer@asu.edu
Managing editor, KJZZ Radio

Francine Hardaway
francine.hardaway@asu.edu
Partner, Stealthmode Partners

Stephen Harding
shardin1@asu.edu
Senior producer for digital innovation, Gannett

Denise Hawken-Collins
denisehc@asu.edu
Sports media professional, FOX Sports Arizona

Ceasar Hernandez
ceasar.hernandez.1@asu.edu
Technical producer, CBS 5, KPHO-TV

Andrew Heyward
aheyward@asu.edu
Principal, Heyward Advisory LLC

Shanna Hogan
smhogan@asu.edu
Author

Amber Hutchins, Ph.D.
amber.hutchins@asu.edu
PR consultant

Nicole Koester
nicole.koester@asu.edu
TV news professional

Donna Krache
dkrache@asu.edu
Former CNN executive producer

John Leach
jleach@asu.edu
Managing partner, Digital Strategies LLC

Carl Lemon
cvlemon@asu.edu
Videographer, Lemon Video

Kerry Lengel
kerry.lengel@asu.edu
Columnist, arts reporter, The Arizona Republic/azcentral.com

Maddie Liseblad
maddiel@asu.edu
Doctoral student, Cronkite School

Morgan Loew
morgan.loew@asu.edu
Investigative reporter, CBS 5, KPHO-TV

John Lowe
john.s.lowe@asu.edu
Sports researcher

Ilana Lowery
ilana.lowery@asu.edu
Editor-in-chief, Phoenix Business Journal

Albert Macias
amacia10@asu.edu
News director, KJZZ Radio

Peter Madrid
peter.madrid@asu.edu
Communications specialist

Fran Mallace
fran.mallace@coxmedia.com
Vice president, Cox Communications

Michael Mallace
michael.mallace@sierrah.com
General manager, Sierra H Broadcasting

Elizabeth Mays
elizabeth.mays@asu.edu
Marketing and community manager

Robert McJannet
robert.mcjannet@asu.edu
Special projects editor, CBS 5, KPHO-TV

Sharon Mittelman
sharon.mittelman@asu.edu
Reporter/anchor, KTAR News

Aliya Mood
amood@asu.edu
Designer, The Arizona Republic/azcentral.com

Holliday Moore
holliday.moore@asu.edu
Reporter and assignment editor, KTAR News, and CBS 5, KPHO-TV

Sarah Muench
smuench@asu.edu
Publisher, clippedin.bike; editor, Gannett

Karla Navarrete
kjnavar1@asu.edu
Freelance journalist

Dawn Nici
nici.dawn@asu.edu
News anchor, Money Radio

Caitlin O'Hara
caaohara@gmail.com
Freelance photojournalist

Kirstin Pellizzaro
kpellizz@asu.edu
Doctoral student, Cronkite School

Robin Phillips
robin.phillips@asu.edu
Writer, Castelazo Content

Patricia Piburn
pattipiburn@asu.edu
Doctoral student, Cronkite School

Brian Rackham
brian.rackham@asu.edu
Doctoral student, Cronkite School

Josh Rawitch
josh.rawitch@asu.edu
Senior vice president of communications, Arizona Diamondbacks

Catherine Reagor
jreagor@asu.edu
Senior journalist, The Arizona Republic/azcentral.com

Mark Reda
mark.reda@asu.edu
Broadcast production professional

Gail Rhodes
gail.rhodes@asu.edu
Freelance journalist

Kelly Roach
kellymroach@asu.edu
Communications consultant

Jose Romero
jose.m.romero@asu.edu
Freelance writer/editor

Richard Ruelas
rruelas@asu.edu
Reporter, The Arizona Republic/azcentral.com

Mark Scarp
mark.scarp@asu.edu
Communications manager, Heard Museum

David Seibert
dseibert@asu.edu
Producer, Dave Seibert Media

Celeste Sepessy
c.sepessy@gmail.com
Editor, Casual Astronaut

Maren Showkeir
mshowkei@asu.edu
Writer, editor and consultant

Glen Stephens
glen.stephens@asu.edu
Broadcast and multimedia director, City of Mesa

Jason Stone
jason.t.stone@asu.edu
Radio news producer, Clear Channel Radio

Mike Sunnucks
msunnucks@bizjournals.com
Senior writer, Phoenix Business Journal

Steven Totten
sjtotten@asu.edu
Reporter, Phoenix Business Journal

Brian Turner
brian.l.turner@asu.edu
Broadcast technology teacher, Agua Fria High School

Betty M. van Iersel
evaniers@asu.edu
Lecturer in communications, George Washington University

Kelly Vaughn
kellyannevaughn@gmail.com
Managing editor, Arizona Highways

Maureen West
maureen.west@asu.edu
Communications consultant

Evan Wyloge
evan.wyloge@asu.edu
Senior reporter, Arizona Center for Investigative Reporting

Bob Young
robert.l.young@asu.edu
Retired sports reporter and columnist, The Arizona Republic/azcentral.com

Gilbert Zermeño
gilbert.zermeno@asu.edu
Investigative producer/photojournalist, CBS 5, KPHO-TV