Associate Faculty

The adjunct faculty at the Walter Cronkite School of Journalism and Mass Communication represents the best and brightest of the journalism community across the Phoenix metropolitan area, which is one of the largest media markets in the country. The part-time faculty includes current and former editors, reporters, designers, producers and public relations specialists from the region’s top newspapers, TV and radio stations, magazines, websites, PR firms and corporations.

Each year, one adjunct faculty member is recognized as the outstanding faculty associate of the year. Past winners include:

2015-2016 - Tom Fergus
2014-2015 - Greg Boeck
2013-2014 - Elvia Diaz
2012-2013 - Allysa Adams
2011-2012 - Gilbert Zermeño
2010-2011 - Tom Blodgett
2009-2010 - Richard Ruelas
2008-2009 - Jennifer Johnson and Andrea Decker
2007-2008 - Wilma Mathews
2006-2007 - Norm Ginsburg

The associate faculty are:

Jill Adair
jill.adair@asu.edu
Editor, Mesa News Today

Allysa Adams
allysa.adams@asu.edu
Executive producer, Arizona Horizon

Glen Anderson
geander1@asu.edu@asu.edu
Newscast director, FOX 10, KSAZ-TV

Robert Anglen
robert.anglen@asu.edu
Business reporter, The Arizona Republic/azcentral.com

Eduardo Ayala
eduardo.ayala@asu.edu
Investigative producer/photojournalist, CBS 5, KPHO-TV

Tom Blodgett
thomas.blodgett@asu.edu
Community content specialist, The Arizona Republic/azcentral.com

Greg Boeck
gregboeck@yahoo.com
Former sports writer, USA Today

Sonia Bovio
sbovio@asu.edu
Doctoral student, Cronkite School

Jamie Bowen
jrbowen3@asu.edu
Doctoral student, Cronkite School

Patrick Breen
pjbreen1@asu.edu
Photographer, The Arizona Republic/azcentral.com

Dave Cornelius
david.cornelius@asu.edu
Campus director, C4 Accel

Jayson Chesler
jaychesler@gmail.com
Co-founder, Terrainial VR

Roy Dabner
rdsportpix@cox.net
Photographer, European Pressphoto Agency

John D'Anna
john.danna@asu.edu
Editor, digital / print editors, The Arizona Republic/azcentral.com

Deanna Dent
deanna.dent@asu.edu
Photographer and videographer, ASU Now

Nancie Dodge
nancie.dodge@asu.edu
Media consultant

Becca Dyer
beccadyer@aol.com
Page 1 copy editor, The Arizona Republic/azcentral.com

Heather Eaton
heather.eaton@asu.edu
Educator, Tolleson Union High School District

Larry Edsall
larry.edsall@asu.edu
Editorial director, Classic Car News

Gregg Elder
gaelder@asu.edu
Videographer, State of Arizona

Charles Emmert
cemmert@asu.edu
Station manager, Know99 Television

Tom Fergus
thomas.fergus@asu.edu
News videographer/reporter, FOX 10, KSAZ-TV

Valeria Fernández
valeria.fernandez@asu.edu
Independent multimedia journalist and producer

Michelle Fitzhugh-Craig
michelle.craig@asu.edu
CEO/editor-in-chief, shades Magazine

Joe Fortunato
joseph.fortunato@asu.edu
Faculty, ASU School of Film, Dance and Theatre

Josh Frigerio
joshua.frigerio@asu.edu
Real-time editor, ABC15, KNXV-TV

Katherine Fritcke
kfritcke@asu.edu
Producer/reporter, KJZZ Radio

Joseph Garcia
joseph.c.garcia@asu.edu
Director of Latino Public Policy Center, ASU Morrison Institute for Public Policy

Christia L. Gibbons
christia301@live.com
Writer, editor, communications consultant

Denise Hawken-Collins
denisehc@asu.edu
Sports media professional, FOX Sports Arizona

Ceasar Hernandez
ceasar.hernandez.1@asu.edu
Technical producer, CBS 5, KPHO-TV

Andrew Heyward
aheyward@asu.edu
Principal, Heyward Advisory LLC

Shanna Hogan
smhogan@asu.edu
Author, St. Martin's Press

Sean Holstege
sholsteg@asu.edu
Freelance journalist

Amber Hutchins, Ph.D.
amber.hutchins@asu.edu
PR consultant

Courtland Jeffrey
cejeffre@asu.edu
Data visualizer/beat journalist, ABC 15, KNXV-TV

Nicole Koester
nicole.koester@asu.edu
TV news professional

John Leach
jleach@asu.edu
Managing partner, Digital Strategies LLC

Carl Lemon
cvlemon@asu.edu
Videographer, Lemon Video

Maddie Liseblad
maddiel@asu.edu
Doctoral student, Cronkite School

Morgan Loew
morgan.loew@asu.edu
Investigative reporter, CBS 5, KPHO-TV

Ilana Lowery
ilana.lowery@asu.edu
Editor-in-chief, Phoenix Business Journal

Albert Macias
amacia10@asu.edu
News director, KJZZ Radio

Peter Madrid
peter.madrid@asu.edu
Communications specialist

Robert McJannet
robert.mcjannet@asu.edu
Special projects editor, CBS 5, KPHO-TV

Greg Moore
gregory.g.moore@asu.edu
Senior editor, ASU Now

Holliday Moore
holliday.moore@asu.edu
Reporter and assignment editor, KTAR News, and CBS 5, KPHO-TV

Karla Navarrete
kjnavar1@asu.edu
Freelance journalist

Kirstin Pellizzaro
kpellizz@asu.edu
Doctoral student, Cronkite School

Patricia Piburn
pattipiburn@asu.edu
Doctoral student, Cronkite School

Catherine Reagor
jreagor@asu.edu
Senior journalist, The Arizona Republic/azcentral.com

Mark Reda
mark.reda@asu.edu
Broadcast production professional

Gail Rhodes
gail.rhodes@asu.edu
Freelance journalist

Kelly Roach
kellymroach@asu.edu
Communications consultant

Jose Romero
jose.m.romero@asu.edu
Freelance writer/editor

Richard Ruelas
rruelas@asu.edu
Reporter, The Arizona Republic/azcentral.com

Fernanda Santos
fernanda.saucier@asu.edu
Phoenix Bureau chief, The New York Times

Mark Scarp
mark.scarp@asu.edu
Communications manager, Arizona Commerce Authority

Jeff Schneider
jeffrey.schneider@asu.edu
Executive sports producer, 12 News, KPNX-TV

Celeste Sepessy
c.sepessy@gmail.com
Editor, Casual Astronaut

Maren Showkeir
mshowkei@asu.edu
Writer, editor and consultant

Glen Stephens
glen.stephens@asu.edu
Broadcast and multimedia director, City of Mesa

Jason Stone
jason.t.stone@asu.edu
Radio news producer, Clear Channel Radio

Mike Sunnucks
msunnucks@bizjournals.com
Senior writer, Phoenix Business Journal

Steven Totten
sjtotten@asu.edu
Reporter, Phoenix Business Journal

Brian Turner
brian.l.turner@asu.edu
Broadcast technology teacher, Agua Fria High School

Betty M. van Iersel
evaniers@asu.edu
Lecturer in communications, George Washington University

Kelly Vaughn
kellyannevaughn@gmail.com
Managing editor, Arizona Highways

Maureen West
maureen.west@asu.edu
Communications consultant

Evan Wyloge
evan.wyloge@asu.edu
Senior reporter, Arizona Center for Investigative Reporting

Bob Young
robert.l.young@asu.edu
Retired sports reporter and columnist, The Arizona Republic/azcentral.com

Gilbert Zermeño
gilbert.zermeno@asu.edu
Investigative producer/photojournalist, CBS 5, KPHO-TV