Associate Faculty

The adjunct faculty at the Walter Cronkite School of Journalism and Mass Communication represents the best and brightest of the journalism community across the Phoenix metropolitan area, which is one of the largest media markets in the country. The part-time faculty includes current and former editors, reporters, designers, producers and public relations specialists from the region’s top newspapers, TV and radio stations, magazines, websites, PR firms and corporations.

Each year, one adjunct faculty member is recognized as the outstanding faculty associate of the year. Past winners include:

2014-2015 - Greg Boeck
2013-2014 - Elvia Diaz
2012-2013 - Allysa Adams
2011-2012 - Gilbert Zermeño
2010-2011 - Tom Blodgett
2009-2010 - Richard Ruelas
2008-2009 - Jennifer Johnson and Andrea Decker
2007-2008 - Wilma Mathews
2006-2007 - Norm Ginsburg

The associate faculty are:

Jill Adair
Freelance journalist

Allysa Adams
Freelance journalist

Jay Alabaster
Doctoral student, Cronkite School

Edward Ayala
Investigative producer/photojournalist, KPHO-TV CBS

Tom Blodgett
Community content specialist, The Arizona Republic/

Greg Boeck
Former sports writer, USA Today

Paola Boivin
Sports columnist, The Arizona Republic

Sonia Bovio
Doctoral student, Cronkite School

Patrick Breen
Photographer, The Arizona Republic

Christina Caldwell
Freelance reporter

Joseph Camporeale
Professional photographer

Kristina Carlberg
Public information officer, City of Peoria

Dave Cornelius
Campus director, C4 Accel

Roy Dabner
Photographer, European Pressphoto Agency

Elvia Diaz
Editor, La Voz

John Dille
President, Federated Media

Nancie Dodge
Media consultant

Becca Dyer
Page 1 copy editor, The Arizona Republic

Gregg Elder
Videographer, State of Arizona

Chuck Emmert
Station manager, Know99 Television

Tom Fergus
News videographer/reporter, FOX 10, KSAZ-TV

Michelle Fitzhugh Craig
CEO/editor-in-chief, shades Magazine

Josh Frigerio
Real-time editor, ABC15 News

Christia L. Gibbons
Freelance journalist

Tracy Greer
Managing editor, KJZZ

Stephen Harding
Homepage editor,

Denise Hawken-Collins
Sports media professional, FOX Sports Arizona

Ceasar Hernandez
Technical producer, CBS 5, KPHO-TV

Sean Holstege
Senior reporter, The Arizona Republic

Amber Hutchins, Ph.D.
PR consultant

Betty M. van Iersel
Lecturer in communications, George Washington University

Nicole Koester
Adjunct professor, ASU

Donna Krache
Faculty associate, ASU/Cronkite

John Leach
Managing partner, Digital Strategies LLC

Kerry Lengel
Columnist/arts reporter, The Arizona Republic

Niclas Lindh
Instructional technology analyst, Cronkite School

Maddie Liseblad
Doctoral student, Cronkite School

Morgan Loew
Investigative reporter, CBS 5, KPHO-TV

Ilana Lowery
Editor-in-chief, Phoenix Business Journal

Albert Macias
News director, KJZZ Radio

Peter Madrid
Communications specialist, Cushman & Wakefield Arizona

Fran Mallace
Vice president, Cox Communications

Michael Mallace
General manager, Sierra H Broadcasting

Robert McJannet
Special projects editor, CBS 5, KPHO-TV

Jorge Melchor
Photojournalism, Cronkite

Aliya Mood
Designer, The Arizona Republic

Holliday Moore
Reporter and assignment editor, KTAR News and CBS 5

Sarah Muench
Publisher, | Editor, Gannett

Caitlin O'Hara
Freelance independent photojournalist

Kirstin Pellizzaro
Doctoral student, Cronkite School

Robin J. Phillips
Senior content developer, Castelazo Content

Theresa Poulson
Video journalist

Jessica Pucci
Audience editor, McMurry/TMG

Catherine Reagor
Senior journalist, The Arizona Republic/azcentral

Mark Reda
Coordinating producer, Fox Sports Arizona

Gail Rhodes

Kelly Roach
Communications consultant

Richard Ruelas
Reporter, The Arizona Republic

Mark Scarp
Communications manager, Heard Museum

Maren Showkeir
Writer, editor and consultant

Glen Stephens
Broadcast & multimedia director, City of Mesa

Jason Stone
Radio wire producer, Clear Channel Radio

Mike Sunnucks
Writer, Phoenix Business Journal

Leslie-Jean Thornton
Associate professor, Cronkite School

Steven Totten
Reporter, Phoenix Business Journal

Brian Turner
Broadcast technology teacher, Agua Fria High School

Kelly Vaughn
Managing editor/books editor, Arizona Highways Magazine

Maureen West
Journalist, educator, program evaluation consultant

Evan Wyloge
Senior reporter, Arizona Center for Investigative Reporting

Bob Young
Retired sports reporter and columnist, The Arizona Republic/

Gilbert Zermeño
Investigative producer/photojournalist, CBS 5, KPHO-TV