Associate Faculty

The adjunct faculty at the Walter Cronkite School of Journalism and Mass Communication represents the best and brightest of the journalism community across the Phoenix metropolitan area, which is one of the largest media markets in the country. The part-time faculty includes current and former editors, reporters, designers, producers and public relations specialists from the region’s top newspapers, TV and radio stations, magazines, websites, PR firms and corporations.

Each semester, one adjunct faculty member is recognized as the outstanding faculty associate of the year. Past winners include:

2012-2013 - Allysa Adams
2011-2012 - Gilbert Zermeno
2010-2011 - Tom Blodgett
2009-2010 - Richard Ruelas
2008-2009 - Jennifer Johnson and Andrea Decker
2007-2008 - Wilma Mathews
2006-2007 - Norm Ginsburg

The 2014 associate faculty are:

Jill Adair
jill.adair@asu.edu
Freelance writer; former News Services Editor, Independent Newspapers

Allysa Adams
allysaadams@q.com
Freelance reporter/producer

Robert Anglen
ranglen@asu.edu
Investigative Reporter, The Arizona Republic

Mark Athitakis
athitakismark@gmail.com
Freelance reporter

Paul Atkinson
paul.atkinson@asu.edu
Director of Communications, ASU School of Criminology and Criminal Justice

Tom Blodgett
thomas.blodgett@asu.edu
Assistant Sports Editor, azcentral sports

Michael Bluhm
michael.bluhm@asu.edu
Doctoral student, Cronkite School

David J. Bodney
dbodney@steptoe.com
Partner, Steptoe & Johnson LLP

Greg Boeck
gregboeck@yahoo.com
Former sports writer, USA Today

Wyatt Buchanan
wyatt.buchanan@asu.edu
Former Sacramento Bureau Chief, The San Francisco Chronicle; freelance journalist

Carlos Chavez
carlos.chavez@arizonarepublic.com
Photographer, The Arizona Republic and 12 News, KPNX-TV

Lindsey Collom
lindsey.collom@asu.edu
Breaking News Editor, The Arizona Republic/azcentral.com

Dave Cornelius
david.cornelius@asu.edu
CEO, Daconsulting

Amanda J. Crawford
acrawfo2@asu.edu
Freelance writer

Kevin Curran
kjcurran@asu.edu
Assignment Editor, ABC 15, KNXV-TV and ABC15.com

Roy Dabner
rdsportpix@cox.net
Photo stringer, European Pressphoto Agency

John D’Anna
jdanna@asu.edu
Page 1 Editor, The Arizona Republic

Deanna Dent
dnndent@gmail.com
Multimedia journalist

Elvia Diaz
elvia.diaz@arizonarepublic.com
Editor, La Voz

John Dille
jdille@federatedmedia.com
President and CEO, Federated Media

Nancie Dodge
nancied1@earthlink.net
Media consultant

Heather Lovett Dunn
heather.dunn.1@asu.edu
Managing Editor, 12 News, KPNX-TV

Rebecca Dyer
beccadyer@aol.com
Copy Editor, The Arizona Republic

Larry Edsall
larry.edsall@asu.edu
Author and freelance journalist

Chuck Emmert
cemmert@asu.edu
Station Manager, Know99 Television

Tom Fergus
thomas.fergus@asu.edu
News Videographer, FOX 10, KSAZ-TV

Joe Garcia
joezen55@msn.com
Director, ASU Morrison Institute Latino Public Policy Center

Christia Gibbons
botug109@yahoo.com
Editor, InMaricopa; City Editor, Arcadia News

Tom Gibbons
dezbiz57@yahoo.com
Editor, Talk of Arizona

Bill Goodykoontz
billgoody@gmail.com
Chief Film Critic, Gannett; Film Critic, The Arizona Republic

David Gordon
david.gordon@arizonarepublic.com
Copy Editor, The Arizona Republic

Adrienne Hapanowicz
ahapanow@asu.edu
Lead Designer, AZ Magazine

Stephen Harding
shardin1@asu.edu
Homepage Editor, azcentral.com

Denise Hawken-Collins
denisehc@asu.edu
Stage Manager/FOX Box Operator, FOX Sports Arizona

Ceasar Hernandez
ceasar.hernandez.1@asu.edu
Technical Producer, CBS 5, KPHO-TV

Sean Holstege
sean.holstege@arizonarepublic.com
Senior Reporter, The Arizona Republic

Rich Johnson
richard.g.johnson@asu.edu
Doctoral student, Cronkite School

Michael Kiefer
michael.kiefer.1@asu.edu
Senior Reporter, The Arizona Republic

Kelly Vaughn Kramer
kkramer@azdot.gov
Managing Editor, Arizona Highways Magazine

Jen Lebron Kuhney
jkuhney@asu.edu
Reporter, The Arizona Republic

Brett Kurland
bkurland@asu.edu
Producer

John Leach
jleach@asu.edu
Managing Partner, Digital Strategies

Peter Madrid
peter.madrid@asu.edu
Communications Specialist, Cushman & Wakefield Arizona

John Paul McDonnall
johnpaul.mcdonnall@gannett.com
Night Metro Editor, The Arizona Republic

Robert McJannet
robert.mcjannet@asu.edu
Special Projects Editor/Photojournalist, CBS 5, KPHO-TV

Kathryn McManus
kathryn.mcmanus@asu.edu
MarCom Consultant

Greg Moore
gregibmoore@gmail.com
Editor, The Associated Press - West Region

David Natharius, Ph.D.
davenat@asu.edu
Professor Emeritus of Communication and Humanities, California State University, Fresno

Robin J. Phillips
robin.phillips@asu.edu
Digital Director, Reynolds Center for Business Journalism

Brian Rackham
brackham@asu.edu
Doctoral student, former television news director

Catherine Reagor
catherine.reagor@arizonarepublic.com
Senior Reporter, The Arizona Republic

Kristy Roschke
kristy.roschke@asu.edu
Doctoral student, Cronkite School

Richard Ruelas
rruelas@asu.edu
Features Reporter, The Arizona Republic

Anthony Ryan
from.anthonyryan@gmail.com
Head Designer, Instructor and Social Media Evangelist, anthonyryanmedia

Mark Scarp
mscarp@heard.org
Communications Manager, Heard Museum

Dave Seibert
dseibert@asu.edu
Multimedia Producer, The Arizona Republic

Maren Showkeir
Author, business consultant
maren.showkeir@asu.edu

Amy Silverman
amy.silverman@asu.edu
Managing Editor, Phoenix New Times

Ceeon Smith
cquietts@asu.edu
Former Executive Assistant of Communications for the city of Detroit and New Orleans

Glen Stephens
glen.stephens@asu.edu
Station Director, Mesa Channel 11

Conrad Storad
cstorad@cox.net
Children’s book author and editor, science writer

Mike Sunnucks
Senior writer, Phoenix Business Journal
msunnucks@bizjournals.com

Kenn Tomasch
ktomasch@asu.edu
Marketing and Communications Manager, Greater Phoenix Chamber

Gilbert Zermeno
gilbert.zermeno@asu.edu
Investigative Producer/Photojournalist, CBS 5, KPHO-TV