Associate Faculty

The adjunct faculty at the Walter Cronkite School of Journalism and Mass Communication represents the best and brightest of the journalism community across the Phoenix metropolitan area, which is one of the largest media markets in the country. The part-time faculty includes current and former editors, reporters, designers, producers and public relations specialists from the region’s top newspapers, TV and radio stations, magazines, websites, PR firms and corporations.

Each year, one adjunct faculty member is recognized as the outstanding faculty associate of the year. Past winners include:

2013-2014 - Elvia Diaz
2012-2013 - Allysa Adams
2011-2012 - Gilbert Zermeño
2010-2011 - Tom Blodgett
2009-2010 - Richard Ruelas
2008-2009 - Jennifer Johnson and Andrea Decker
2007-2008 - Wilma Mathews
2006-2007 - Norm Ginsburg

The associate faculty are:

Jill Adair
Former news services editor, Independent Newspapers

Allysa Adams
Freelance journalist

Robert Anglen
Investigative reporter, The Arizona Republic

Matt Barcellos
Producer/director, PHXTV, city of Phoenix

Tom Blodgett
Assistant sports editor, azcentral sports

Michael Bluhm
Doctoral student, Cronkite School

David J. Bodney
Partner, Ballard Spahr LLP

Greg Boeck
Former sports writer, USA Today

Sonia Bovio
Doctoral student, Cronkite School

Joe Camporeale
Professional photographer

Jerry Cobb
Director of communications, Maricopa County Attorney's Office

Lindsey Collom
Breaking news editor, The Arizona Republic

Dave Cornelius
Managing partner, C4 Accel

Roy Dabner
Photographer, European Pressphoto Agency

Deanna Dent
Multimedia journalist

Nancie Dodge
Media consultant

Becca Dyer
Page 1 copy editor, The Arizona Republic

Larry Edsall
Editorial director,; Phoenix Automotive Press Association

Chuck Emmert
Station manager, Know99 Television

Tom Fergus
News videographer, FOX 10, KSAZ-TV

Michelle Fitzhugh-Craig
CEO/editor-in-chief, shades Magazine

Joseph Garcia
Director, ASU Morrison Institute Latino Public Policy Center

Christia L. Gibbons
Editor, InMaricopa; city editor, Arcadia News

Thomas Gibbons
Editor, Talk of Arizona magazine

David Gordon
Copy editor, The Arizona Republic

Glenn Gullickson
Former editor, Echo Magazine

Ronald J. Hansen
Reporter, The Arizona Republic

Stephen Harding
Homepage editor,

Denise Hawken-Collins
Sports media professional

JJ Hensley
Breaking news editor, The Arizona Republic

Tatiana Hensley
Former social media editor, The Arizona Republic,

Ceasar Hernandez
Technical producer, CBS 5, KPHO-TV

Shanna Hogan
Journalist and true crime author

Sean Holstege
Senior reporter, The Arizona Republic

Amber Hutchins
Former PR professional

Kelly Vaughn Kramer
Managing editor/books editor, Arizona Highways Magazine

Jennifer Johnson
Senior adviser/communications director, U.S. Rep. Ann Kirkpatrick

Maddie Liseblad
Doctoral student, Cronkite School

Christy Little
Producer, 12 News, KPNX-TV

Alan Lobock
Co-founder SkyMall magazine and Worthworm

Morgan Loew
Investigative reporter, CBS 5, KPHO-TV

Peter Madrid
Communications specialist, Cushman & Wakefield Arizona

Joe Mathews
California and innovation editor, Zocalo Public Square

Robert McJannet
Special projects editor, CBS 5, KPHO-TV

Kathryn McManus
MarCom consultant

Laurie Merrill
Reporter, The Arizona Republic,, 12 News, KPNX-TV

Holliday Moore
Reporter and assignment editor, KTAR News and CBS 5

David Natharius, Ph.D.
Professor emeritus of communication and humanities, California State University, Fresno

Dawn Nici
News anchor and social media coordinator, KFNN Money Radio

Chelsea O'Donnell
Designer, Gannett Company

Theresa Poulson
Video journalist

Jessica Pucci
Audience editor, McMurry/TMG

Ian Punnett
Doctoral student, Cronkite School

Brian Rackham
Doctoral student, former television news director

Catherine Reagor
Senior reporter, The Arizona Republic

Kelly Roach
Communications consultant

Kristy Roschke
Doctoral student, Cronkite School

Richard Ruelas
Reporter, The Arizona Republic

Anthony Ryan
Head designer, instructor and social media evangelist, anthonyryanmedia

Mike Sauceda
Producer, Arizona Horizon

Dave Seibert
Senior multimedia producer, The Arizona Republic

Celeste Sepessy
Managing editor, Virgo Publishing

Maren Showkeir
Writer, editor and consultant

Ceeon Quiett Smith
Former executive assistant of communications, cities of Detroit and New Orleans

Glen Stephens
Station director, Mesa Channel 11

Mike Sunnucks
Writer, Phoenix Business Journal

Karen Werner
Owner, Kwink Media

Maureen West
Communication consultant, nonprofit freelance writer

Tanya Wheeless
President, TW Executive Leadership

Evan Wyloge
Senior reporter, Arizona Center for Investigative Reporting

Gilbert Zermeño
Investigative producer/Photojournalist, CBS 5, KPHO-TV