Student Clubs and Organizations

students at event

Association for Women in Sports Media
AWSM@Arizona State provides a campus community of sports-minded students and is open to both men and women. It is a student chapter of the national AWSM professional organization, which advocates for women in sports media through support services, networking, mentoring and assisting young women entering into sports media, and serving as a watchdog, promoting fair portrayal of female professionals in sports media.

President: Dana Gundrum at dgundrum@asu.edu
Faculty adviser: Kristin Gilger at kristin.gilger@asu.edu
Facebook

Asian American Journalists Association
AAJA is a nonprofit professional and educational organization that serves Asian Americans and Pacific Islanders by encouraging young people to consider journalism as a career, developing managers in the media industry and promoting fair and accurate news coverage.
President: Michelle Lee at myhlee5@gmail.com
Faculty adviser: Aric Johnson at aric.johnson@asu.edu
Facebook
Twitter

Cronkite Broadcast Association
The Cronkite Broadcast Association incorporates three clubs at Cronkite: Associated Press Television and Radio Association, which advances journalism through radio and television media and cooperates with the Associated Press in order to make available an accurate and impartial record of the news; National Academy of Television Arts and Sciences, which is dedicated to the advancement of the arts and sciences of television and the promotion of creative leadership for artistic, educational and technical achievements within the television industry; and RTDNA, the world’s largest professional organization devoted exclusively to electronic journalism. RTDNA represents local and network news executives in broadcasting, cable and other electronic media in more than 30 countries. The student chapter at ASU provides its members with opportunities to make connections with local journalists and facilitates student members' attendance at other professional training opportunities.
President: Kari Osep at kdosep@asu.edu
Faculty adviser: Melanie Alvarez at melanie.alvarez@asu.edu
Faculty adviser: Jim Jacoby at Jim.Jacoby@asu.edu
Faculty adviser: Mark Lodato at mark.lodato@asu.edu
Facebook

Fashion Journalist Club
The Fashion Journalist Club is an organization for journalism students interested in pursuing a career in fashion journalism. Members gain valuable experience by researching and writing stories for the club blog, covering local and national fashion week events and networking with industry professionals.
President: Stacia Affelt at Stacia.Affelt@asu.edu
Adviser: Marianne Barrett at marianne@asu.edu
Blog
Facebook
Twitter

National Association of Black Journalists
The student chapter of NABJ at ASU affords professional, social and community involvement opportunities to its members, who can participate in mentorship and networking events that include career advancement workshops and the national organization's conference.
President: Malcolm Brinkley at malcolm.brinkley@yahoo.com
Faculty adviser: Retha Hill at retha.hill@asu.edu
Facebook

National Association of Hispanic Journalists
NAHJ is committed to the advancement of Hispanics in the news industry. Through the ASU student chapter, students have the opportunity to meet professional journalists, apply for scholarships, attend the organization's national convention and more.
President: Yahaira Jacquez at yahaira.jacquez@asu.edu
Faculty adviser: Anita Luera at anita.luera@asu.edu
Facebook

National Lesbian and Gay Journalist Association
NLGJA is an organization of journalists, media professionals, educators and students working from within the news industry to foster fair and accurate coverage of lesbian, gay, bisexual and transgender issues. NLGJA opposes all forms of workplace bias and provides professional development to its members. Student members will be part of the national group and have access to networking, mentorship and educational opportunities with journalists in the communication industry.
President:Robert Soares at robert.soares@asu.edu.
Faculty adviser: Sue Green at susan.c.green@asu.edu
Facebook
Twitter

National Press Photographers Association
The ASU student chapter of the National Press Photographers Association is committed to the enlightenment and education of students interested in the field of photojournalism. Through the exploration of journalistic writing, digital media and photography, students take part in valuable hands-on experiences and skill-building opportunities.
President: Sean Logan at sean.logan@asu.edu
Faculty adviser: Kristin Gilger at Kristin.Gilger@asu.edu
Facebook

NewsWatch
Student Representative of NewsWatch: Ashton Buccola
Faculty adviser: Assistant Dean Mark Lodato at mark.lodato@asu.edu
Broadcast

Public Relations Student Society of America
PRSSA is a nationwide organization focused on providing students who aspire to have careers in the public relations/communications industry with experience in the field, via networking, internships, scholarships and other resources. ASU Cronkite's chapter offers opportunities for students to meet public relations professionals, gain mentors, broaden industry knowledge and communication skills, and share fellowship with other public relations professionals.
President: Brett Nachman at bnachman@asu.edu
Faculty adviser: Dr. Fran Matera at matera@asu.edu
Facebook
Twitter

Society of Professional Journalists
For more than 100 years, SPJ has been dedicated to encouraging a climate in which journalism can be practiced more freely and fully, stimulating high standards and ethical behavior in the practice of journalism and perpetuating a free press. Since its founding in 1909 as Sigma Delta Chi, SPJ's mission has been to inspire successive generations of talented individuals to become dedicated journalists and to serve as the pre-eminent, broad-based membership organization for journalists. SPJ members, both student and professional, meet at many events and conferences where they share information and build important professional relationships.
President: Alyssa Tufts at alyssa.tufts@asu.edu
Faculty adviser: Mark Scarp at mark.scarp@asu.edu
Facebook
Twitter

Student Leadership Advisory Council
The Student Leadership Advisory Council is a group of Cronkite School student leaders who advise the dean. The council comprises the student leaders of the various student media on campus (The State Press, NewsWatch, Blaze and Channel 2), the campus-based media associations, the president of the Cronkite Council student government and the school’s representatives on the university-wide student government.
Faculty adviser: Dean Christopher Callahan at christopher.callahan@asu.edu